The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Jun 15, 2003, 10:18am
Official Forum Member

I'm new to site. I had looked at prior postings concerning OBR 709(a) but still slightly confused.

Specifically, 709 reads "It is interference by a batter or a runner when- (a) After a third srike he hinders the catcher in his attempt to field the ball;"

I know that some rules spell out the interference must be intentional and some include accidental interference. 709(a) just says "hinders the catcher". There is no reference to intentional. What is the correct ruling apply 709(a) to the situation that happened in our game yesterday.

Situation:

Dropped third strike which rolled into fair teritory (location of ball probably not relevant). Batter upon running to 1st. steps on ball rolling it away from catcher. Catcher was unable to make play due to ball being stepped on and moved.

Old Sun Jun 15, 2003, 11:50am
Official Forum Member

I'd call it

I'd call interference if the reason he was unable to make the play was because of the BR stepping on it. A dropped third strike should be a simple play for the catcher therefore if he can't make a play becuase of the BR stepping on it I'd call him out.
Old Sun Jun 15, 2003, 03:35pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally posted by LionsCoach
I'm new to site. I had looked at prior postings concerning OBR 709(a) but still slightly confused.

Specifically, 709 reads "It is interference by a batter or a runner when- (a) After a third srike he hinders the catcher in his attempt to field the ball;"

I know that some rules spell out the interference must be intentional and some include accidental interference. 709(a) just says "hinders the catcher". There is no reference to intentional. What is the correct ruling apply 709(a) to the situation that happened in our game yesterday.

Situation: