The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Hit Batsman (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/8850-hit-batsman.html)

CK Mon Jun 02, 2003 02:32pm

If the batter is hit by a pitch that first stikes the dirt before reaching home plate, is this a hit batsman and is the batter entitled to first. This would be for CYC(Catholic Youth Council) or LLBB. I do not know if this rule varies from organization to organization or not, can not find anything in our rules that cover this. Reason being for this question is that in a game of ours the other evening the plate ump called it dead ball and the batter was NOT entitled to first, just a ball. Also curious as to NF and MLBB on this.

Thank You In Advance!

CK

[Edited by CK on Jun 2nd, 2003 at 02:35 PM]

GarthB Mon Jun 02, 2003 02:54pm

The ground does not kill a pitch at any level of play.


David B Mon Jun 02, 2003 02:57pm

should not be that hard
 
When the ball hits the batter its a dead ball.

But,

does the ball striking the ground make it a dead ball?

I think that should be the same in every book and league.

I think you ump needs to read over the section on dead balls... put him on first.

I can see it now, F1 pitches ball bounces in the dirt and BR hits a ground rule double.

Smitty ump calls - "time, we have a dead ball, and that's ball 2."


Thanks
David

DownTownTonyBrown Mon Jun 02, 2003 03:12pm

As my compatriots have stated above. Pitch is live even after hitting the dirt. If the pitch is thrown poorly enough to hit the batter... the batter gets awarded 1st base.

If batter swings... it is a strike (even if it is the third strike, and batter would be called out - not awarded 1st).

CK Mon Jun 02, 2003 03:16pm

Thanks, that is what I thought, but thought I should ask the experts!

Thanks

CK


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1