The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Last years fed quiz from NASO (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/86618-last-years-fed-quiz-naso.html)

Robert E. Harrison Wed Jan 25, 2012 08:53am

Last years fed quiz from NASO
 
20. B9 hits a grounder to F6. F6’s throw to F3 bounces and ends up trapped against F3’s body by his arm. F3, who is standing on first base, holds
the ball securely in that manner while B9 touches first base. After B9 has
crossed the bag, F3 pulls the ball out and shows it to the umpire. F3 never
juggled or bobbled the ball.
a. B9 is out.
b. B9 is safe.
Answer for FED is a. and for NCAA and Pro is b.
Yet from Last years Case book
2.9.1 SITUATION B: B1 hits a ground ball to F6 who throws to first. F3 juggles
the ball so that it rolls up his arm and is clamped to his body by an elbow or forearm when B1 touches first. RULING: B1 is safe. It is not a catch until the ball is secured by the bare hand or glove hand.
Am I missing something?

bob jenkins Wed Jan 25, 2012 09:03am

Go with the case book and not the NASO answer as presented.

jicecone Wed Jan 25, 2012 09:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert E. Harrison (Post 816482)
20. B9 hits a grounder to F6. F6’s throw to F3 bounces and ends up trapped against F3’s body by his arm. F3, who is standing on first base, holds
the ball securely in that manner while B9 touches first base. After B9 has
crossed the bag, F3 pulls the ball out and shows it to the umpire. F3 never
juggled or bobbled the ball.
a. B9 is out.
b. B9 is safe.
Answer for FED is a. and for NCAA and Pro is b.
Yet from Last years Case book
2.9.1 SITUATION B: B1 hits a ground ball to F6 who throws to first. F3 juggles
the ball so that it rolls up his arm and is clamped to his body by an elbow or forearm when B1 touches first. RULING: B1 is safe. It is not a catch until the ball is secured by the bare hand or glove hand.
Am I missing something?

The hand or glove. Definition of a catch.

johnnyg08 Wed Jan 25, 2012 10:26pm

That answer is B...does FED call a "Catch" the same as a gloved ball?

I think there's a case play in the FED case book with that play word-for-word

pob14 Thu Jan 26, 2012 11:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 816721)
That answer is B...does FED call a "Catch" the same as a gloved ball?

I think there's a case play in the FED case book with that play word-for-word

And I think it's quoted in the first post . . . .

justanotherblue Thu Jan 26, 2012 04:25pm

My favorite was /is #7

A batted ball is foul when it strikes a rock positioned halfway between the pitching plate and second base and rebounds into foul ground between home and third.

Although the ball didn't pass the bag, it is a fair ball in NFHS.

BSUmp16 Thu Jan 26, 2012 08:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by justanotherblue (Post 816982)
My favorite was /is #7

A batted ball is foul when it strikes a rock positioned halfway between the pitching plate and second base and rebounds into foul ground between home and third.

Although the ball didn't pass the bag, it is a fair ball in NFHS.

Are you saying that the answer is wrong? Or are you saying it was your favorite because it's tricky? Because the ball did "pass the bag"

johnnyg08 Thu Jan 26, 2012 09:23pm

Different in NCAA and FED

johnnyg08 Thu Jan 26, 2012 09:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by pob14 (Post 816828)
And I think it's quoted in the first post . . . .

Then what are we debating?

jicecone Thu Jan 26, 2012 09:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by justanotherblue (Post 816982)
My favorite was /is #7

A batted ball is foul when it strikes a rock positioned halfway between the pitching plate and second base and rebounds into foul ground between home and third.

Although the ball didn't pass the bag, it is a fair ball in NFHS.

Very legit question. 2-5-1.b clearly states that it is a Fair Ball if it "contracts fair ground on or beyond an imaginary line between first and third base" Passing a base has nothing to do with the question.

justanotherblue Fri Jan 27, 2012 12:06am

Give the men a bone. It's code specific to NFHS. If you hadn't read the definitions, you would never know where to find it. Got myself more than one cold one off this last year.

bob jenkins Fri Jan 27, 2012 08:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by justanotherblue (Post 817086)
Give the men a bone. It's code specific to NFHS. If you hadn't read the definitions, you would never know where to find it. Got myself more than one cold one off this last year.

Wow. Even the first year rookies should know this one.

jicecone Fri Jan 27, 2012 08:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by justanotherblue (Post 817086)
Give the men a bone. It's code specific to NFHS. If you hadn't read the definitions, you would never know where to find it. Got myself more than one cold one off this last year.

I agree, but I have found that generally, those that don't read Chapter 2, probably haven't read much of 1 or 3 and even 4-10 either.

justanotherblue Fri Jan 27, 2012 12:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 817158)
Wow. Even the first year rookies should know this one.

You would think Bob, however last year my board gave out this answer at the beginning of the test telling everyone it was wrong. Afterward, I had a brief discussion with our "training officer", he was amazed that I actually found/read that. He nor any other board member were aware of the it.

justanotherblue Fri Jan 27, 2012 12:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jicecone (Post 817159)
I agree, but I have found that generally, those that don't read Chapter 2, probably haven't read much of 1 or 3 and even 4-10 either.

I'll admit to not reading much of 10 myself. 1 thru 9 however I will read and highlight every year. I try to make it part of my pre-game habit to read a chapter before every game still.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1