![]() |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Here's the video if you haven't seen it yet >>>> Phillies Protest FI Call.
I don't think that the ball had a chance of going out but it may have hit the yellow stripe. I don't know if that would be a HR in that park or not. Also, there is speculation from the announcers that the fielder wouldn't have caught the ball. It is obvious that his glove hit the fan's hand and that caused the glove to close.
|
MLB tells umpire crew it mistakenly used replay | Bleacher Report
Somewhat related, MLB said that replay could not be used to rule whether FI occurred on a ball bounding over the wall in a ground rule double situation. It probably seemed to the crew that it was a very logical extension, but MLB specified the distinction then. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
I believe that MLB declared that IR was used improperly in this case, but I don't see why. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
The difference here is that it was not ruled a home run. The ball hit the glove, and was apparently ruled as such. And it was Florida's manager that came out initially. For some reason I'm thinking he's not coming out asking them to check and see if it was a home run. the rule doesn't say, as you state, they can check on any ball that's close to the yellow line.
|
Quote:
|
Torre denied the Phillies protest. No details whatsoever as to why he denied it. I'd have been surprised if this was settled otherwise.
|
Guess this means MLB umpires can do whatever the heck they want with replay, and if it turns out they are right, rules be damned...
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18pm. |