![]() |
|
|||
![]()
From the Fed 2003 website:
RULING: This is an illegal glove for the pitcher to use. The out is canceled and the batter is awarded third base. Had the pitcher been told prior to the catch, all he would have needed to do is replace the glove with a legal one. (1 3-5. 1-4-3, 6-2-1-h penalty, 8-3-3b) [my emphasis] It is quite apparent the Fed has ruled a multicolored glove is an illegal glove for a pitcher---at least for a batted ball. But what about for a thrown ball? So, you are now in the bottom of the 7th inning with the visitors leading 2-1 in hot contest. Runners at 2nd and 3rd when the defense changes pitchers---bringing in a closer who is wearing a multicolored glove that you fail to notice. He delivers the first pitch for ball one and receives the ball back from the catcher. The offensive coach then comes out to you to complain about the pitcher's multicolored glove. What action do you take? Do you award bases per the rule, or do you merely eliminate the glove per the ruling? Fed rule 1-4-3 states:
Fed rule 8-3-3 states:
Has the pitcher just used an illegal glove to catch a live thrown ball from the catcher? We know by a different Fed ruling that they consider a mere feint to be a play. Is the pitch and return throw considered to be a play? One would certainly think so by the Fed's wording in 2-29-1:
ARTICLE 1. "Play" is the order given by the umpire when it is time for the game to begin, or to be resumed after having been suspended when he called "time," The term is also used to denote a unit of action which begins when a pitcher has the ball in his possession in pitching position and ends when ball becomes dead or pitcher again holds the ball while in pitching position. IMO, the Fed has made a very poor ruling here whereby they may not have seen as having other ramifications. The color of the glove has no effect on the pitcher's ability to catch the ball. Fellas.......there won't be multicolored gloves worn by pitchers in Fed games that I umpire. I might appear overofficious, but I'm not going to paint a bullseye on my chest for a coach to take that shot only when it really counts. Now, when I tell the coach WHY I won't allow the multicolored glove (for which he is sure to ask why), is that not setting up another umpire handling any subsequent game where an opposing pitcher is wearing a multicolored glove? I hope you don't have the game following mine........... If you fail to notice an illegal glove but later realize it and wish to remove it from the game, I'd recommend you not do so after a play has just been made or with runners on base. You are setting yourself up for the offensive coach to come out and complain at the proper time such that a penalty may have to be invoked. Just my opinion, Freix |
Bookmarks |
|
|