![]() |
Does anyone have obstruction here?
Hello All.
Softball umpire here. As I watched this game live I thought obstruction, because I felt the runner was impeded by the catcher without the ball. Questions (keeping in mind that I don't work baseball) 1. Does anyone agree? 2. Are the rules for OBS the same in FED and pro ball? 3. Am I just way off base? Thanks, just trying to learn. Editor's Picks | BAL@OAK: Jones throws out Pennington at the dish - Video | orioles.com: Multimedia |
1) I only had time to watch once but it looks like your thoughts and description is accurate.
2) The FED rule is different from the OBR (pro) rule, the play is legal in OBR because the catcher was in the process of receiving the ball when the runner veered from his path so in an OBR based game obstruction wouldn't even be a thought. Much closer to possibly having obstruction in FED, in FED the catcher has to leave part of the plate open, it doesn't have to be the part the runner wants, without looking again if the catcher was far enough in front of the plate to leave the back (foul side towards the 3b dugout) of the plate available I have nothing, with the whole plate blocked it is possible to have obstruction. 3) As my answers to 1 and 2 show, you are not off base at all, just unfamiliar with the OBR rulebook. Jasper |
One quick look.
Close in Fed but, most likely nothing in any type of baseball I have done. |
Not OBS under FED, NCAA, OBR.
|
ô!ô
Mr Jenkins:
Quote:
T |
Just an aside. That would be OBS in Little League, as they require possession of the ball, not just the ball on the way, or close.
|
I think we've solved this issue. I'd like to ask about NCAA on this type of play.
Would we have a violation of the collision rule had R3 made contact with Wieters above the waist? Would that have to be judged as an attempt to dislodge the baseball as opposed to an attempt to reach the plate. The throw pulls F2 up the line as we all saw in the video. Please help me interpret the hypothetical scenario as it applies to NCAA. Thank you. |
Quote:
I've forgotten the specific play by now, but if the contact is "far" from the plate and is "chest to chest" contact above the waist, I wouldn't have a violation JUST FOR THAT CONTACT. Other actions (extending the arms, etc) might lead to the call, though. |
Thanks, guys!
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01pm. |