The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Balk ignored? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/78343-balk-ignored.html)

David Emerling Mon Aug 15, 2011 11:28pm

Balk ignored?
 
Using OBR ...

I know that if the pitcher delivers to the batter and the batter reaches base and all other runners advance at least one base, the balk is ignored. I don't think the pitcher is even charged with a balk.

What about this situation: Runner on 1st. Pitcher balks while attempting a pickoff. The throw is wild and the runner is able to advance to 3rd.

I know the ball remains live on this play and that the runner can continue past his awarded base (2nd) at his own risk.

Although this may be more of a scoring question than an umpire question: Is the pitcher charged with a balk? In this case, the balk is not really "ignored" - is it?. In fact, the penalty for the balk is enforced, it is just transparent because of the wild throw. Is this correct?

BSUmp16 Tue Aug 16, 2011 12:30am

Here's J/R:

"If there is a balk followed immediately by a throw, then related action is allowed until a fielder is able to glove and gain possession of such throw. The defense is not allowed a tag try of, or a subsequent throw against a runner before his advance base. If every runner acquires his advance base uncontested, the balk is disregarded." (emphasis added).

Here's the comparable sitch J/R cites:

"R1, there is a balk and a wild throw past first. R1 rounds second and is thrown out running back into second (or just before third): in either case R1 has acquired his advance base and has gone beyond it at his own risk. His out stands and the balk is disregarded."

Matt Tue Aug 16, 2011 12:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BSUmp16 (Post 781107)
Batter didn't reach 1st - Enforce the balk

Wrong. Runners are allowed to advance more than one base at their own risk.

johnnyg08 Tue Aug 16, 2011 12:55am

There wasn't a pitch...F1 balked on a throw over, then threw wild. Runner is protected to 2B, while the live ball is chased down. R1, gets thrown out at 3rd. Tough bananas.

mbyron Tue Aug 16, 2011 05:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by David Emerling (Post 781104)
Although this may be more of a scoring question than an umpire question: Is the pitcher charged with a balk? In this case, the balk is not really "ignored" - is it?. In fact, the penalty for the balk is enforced, it is just transparent because of the wild throw. Is this correct?

Correct all around: yes it's more of a scoring question, yes the balk is "enforced," and yes F1 should be charged with a balk (and an error).

Like all live-ball awards (for instance, type b OBS), runners may advance beyond their awarded base at their own risk. Their doing so does not nullify the award.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1