The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 24, 2003, 06:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 517
Rita,
The mask illegally extends the catcher's reach with his throwing hand 12 to 14 inches. That extra reach could allow him to touch the ball before it becomes fair, or to stop the ball before it reaches DBT, when he would not have been able to do so otherwise.

Stupid rule. I don't think so. The size of the glove is regulated for much the same reason. Is that dumb also?

If F2 scoops up the pitch he blocked with his mask and no runners are attempting to advance is it called? No, but I'll ask for the ball, and as I give him another let F2 know that he committed a violation that could be peanalized.

I wasn't trying to call your question stupid. It was just that the tone of the thread, after Steve pointed out the proper ruling from NAPBL/PUBC, was that the ruling should be ignored.

Roger Greene
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1