The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Detached Equip - Ball foul (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/7608-detached-equip-ball-foul.html)

gsf23 Mon Feb 24, 2003 12:05pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
1) On a pitch, the award is one base (NAPBL interp), so the runner wouldn't have been awarded home.

2) In a similar situation (runner not advancing; "no chance" to advance), as the PU I'm calling "time" before F2 touches the ball.
[/B]
I'm not saying they the call made was the right call. I'm just saying that that is what was ruled. I know that a runner was at first because the catcher was looking at the runner at first as he was reaching out to pull the ball back to him with the mask. I also know that a run scored on the play because the news made a big deal about how the winning run was scored because the manager knew this rule and was observent enough to catch it when no one else did. Maybe there was a runner at third also, I can't remember, but I don't think that there was.

Rita C Mon Feb 24, 2003 12:59pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Roger Greene


I wasn't trying to call your question stupid. It was just that the tone of the thread, after Steve pointed out the proper ruling from NAPBL/PUBC, was that the ruling should be ignored.

Roger Greene

No, I don't ignore rulings. But I do like more explanation, especially when a ruling sounds dumb. You gave more reasoning here by saying it illegally extends the catcher's reach. It was a lot better than your first response.

Rita

gobama84 Mon Feb 24, 2003 03:06pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by gsf23
This exact thing happened about 15 years ago during a pro game, but it was a wild pitch and not a foul ball so I don't know if it realates to this thread or not. The situation was a runner on first, and the pitch was thrown into the dirt, the ball got away from the catcher, probably about two feet away, the runner was not trying to advance on it. The catcher removed his mask as the pitch got away, then reached out and used his mask to pull the ball back to him. None of the umpires made a ruling, but the manager, I believe it was Sparky Anderson, came storming out of the dugout screaming that the catcher couldn't do that. The umps confered and then awarded the runner at first, home, using the detached equipment rule.
1) On a pitch, the award is one base (NAPBL interp), so the runner wouldn't have been awarded home.

2) In a similar situation (runner not advancing; "no chance" to advance), as the PU I'm calling "time" before F2 touches the ball.

How can you justify calling time on a live ball?

bob jenkins Mon Feb 24, 2003 05:50pm

Quote:

Originally posted by gobama84
2) In a similar situation (runner not advancing; "no chance" to advance), as the PU I'm calling "time" before F2 touches the ball.

How can you justify calling time on a live ball? [/B][/QUOTE]

Game management.

Besides, how do you / why would you call time on other than a live ball? ;)

Tim C Mon Feb 24, 2003 06:56pm

As
 
Noted by Bob,

We often call time during a live ball. In fact, except for when a ball goes out of play, we "always" call time during a live ball.

I think I understand what you really mean however.

Tee

Bfair Tue Feb 25, 2003 10:40am

Agreed,Bob..........
I have seen this occur several times where no advantage was gained and the official merely declared time. While not congruent with the written print of the rule, it's certainly congruent with the intent and spirit of the rule.

Hmmmm......seems like I just had a thread discussing officiating within the "intent and spirit" of the rule.


Just my opinion,

Freix



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1