The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   No interference called in the STL game. (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/76002-no-interference-called-stl-game.html)

Illini_Ref Thu Jul 28, 2011 03:48pm

No interference called in the STL game.
 
Anyone catch the play during the Cardinals vs. Astros game last night where the thrown ball hit the on-deck hitter?

The Astros has bases loaded (maybe second and third). Base hit to CF. CFer throws home, obviously late. The ball gets past the catcher. The pitcher was backing up and was on line to get the throw.

The on-deck batter had moved up to direct traffic at the plate. He got between the throw and the pitcher and the throw hit him in the leg and changed direction, allowing the runner from second to score. It seemed that the interference was not intentional.

The umpires huddled and decided on a no-call. Seems that the first run should have scored, a dead ball called, and the other runner sent back to third. I don't think intent is a factor here.

Thoughts????

Rich Ives Thu Jul 28, 2011 05:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Illini_Ref (Post 775907)
Anyone catch the play during the Cardinals vs. Astros game last night where the thrown ball hit the on-deck hitter?

The Astros has bases loaded (maybe second and third). Base hit to CF. CFer throws home, obviously late. The ball gets past the catcher. The pitcher was backing up and was on line to get the throw.

The on-deck batter had moved up to direct traffic at the plate. He got between the throw and the pitcher and the throw hit him in the leg and changed direction, allowing the runner from second to score. It seemed that the interference was not intentional.

The umpires huddled and decided on a no-call. Seems that the first run should have scored, a dead ball called, and the other runner sent back to third. I don't think intent is a factor here.

Thoughts????


3.15

Interference by an authorized person. While the rule says it doesn't apply to teammates or coaches, the comment says what to do if the coach interferes. Another rule anamoly.

It also refefences 7.08(b) (Interference with a throw must be intentional) and 7.11 (vacate space needed to make a play).

Interfefence wasn't intenmtional.

ODB did not get in the catcher's way.

No call.

lawump Thu Jul 28, 2011 06:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Illini_Ref (Post 775907)
Thoughts????

From your description, they got the call right.

Illini_Ref Thu Jul 28, 2011 06:31pm

7.08(b) is irrelevant as it pertains to interference by a RUNNER.

Here is the referenced 7.11. It says nothing about intent.

7.11 The players, coaches or any member of a team at bat shall vacate any space (including both dugouts or bullpens) needed by a fielder who is attempting to field a batted or thrown ball. If a member of the team at bat (other than a runner) hinders a fielder’s attempt to catch or field a batted ball, the ball is dead, the batter is declared out and all runners return to the bases occupied at the time of the pitch. If a member of the team at bat (other than a runner) hinders a fielder’s attempt to field a thrown ball, the ball is dead, the runner on whom the play is being made shall be declared out and all runners return to the last legally occupied base at the time of the interference.

Matt Thu Jul 28, 2011 06:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Illini_Ref (Post 775931)
7.08(b) is irrelevant as it pertains to interference by a RUNNER.

Here is the referenced 7.11. It says nothing about intent.

7.11 The players, coaches or any member of a team at bat shall vacate any space (including both dugouts or bullpens) needed by a fielder who is attempting to field a batted or thrown ball. If a member of the team at bat (other than a runner) hinders a fielder’s attempt to catch or field a batted ball, the ball is dead, the batter is declared out and all runners return to the bases occupied at the time of the pitch. If a member of the team at bat (other than a runner) hinders a fielder’s attempt to field a thrown ball, the ball is dead, the runner on whom the play is being made shall be declared out and all runners return to the last legally occupied base at the time of the interference.

Note that this rule applies to hindering the fielder. If F2 had crashed into the ODB who failed to move, then this rule would apply.

Illini_Ref Thu Jul 28, 2011 06:55pm

So by that logic a player (who is not a runner) could INTENTIONALLY get hit with a thrown ball and nothing should be called. I don't think that is the intent.

The rules say a RUNNER cannot INTENTIONALLY interfere with a thrown ball. They also say that players and coaches who are not runners cannot HINDER a fielder's attempt at fielding a thrown ball.

I think it is a poorly written rule, and as has been pointed out, the comment addresses a coach (and invokes intent), although coaches are exempted in the rule and intent is not mentioned.

Matt Thu Jul 28, 2011 08:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Illini_Ref (Post 775935)
So by that logic a player (who is not a runner) could INTENTIONALLY get hit with a thrown ball and nothing should be called. I don't think that is the intent.

Uh, no.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Illini_Ref (Post 775935)
The rules say a RUNNER cannot INTENTIONALLY interfere with a thrown ball. They also say that players and coaches who are not runners cannot HINDER a fielder's attempt at fielding a thrown ball.

I think it is a poorly written rule, and as has been pointed out, the comment addresses a coach (and invokes intent), although coaches are exempted in the rule and intent is not mentioned.

Most baseball rules are written poorly. That's why the rulebook is not the end-all and be-all of proper umpiring.

Larry1953 Thu Jul 28, 2011 08:42pm

Say F7 airmails a throw to home in a sac fly situation and it hits the ODB after sailing over F2's head. OBD is appropriately stationed to signal R3 whether to slide. Is that a dead ball? Interference? In the OP the protected fielder was F2 and the throw skipped past him after a bad bounce off the mound. R3 had already touched home before the interference. B/R trotted over to third as if he had been awarded the base. Did the deflected ball end up out of play?

Rich Thu Jul 28, 2011 09:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Larry1953 (Post 775967)
Say F7 airmails a throw to home in a sac fly situation and it hits the ODB after sailing over F2's head. OBD is appropriately stationed to signal R3 whether to slide. Is that a dead ball? Interference? In the OP the protected fielder was F2 and the throw skipped past him after a bad bounce off the mound. R3 had already touched home before the interference. B/R trotted over to third as if he had been awarded the base. Did the deflected ball end up out of play?

Day game or night game?

Larry1953 Thu Jul 28, 2011 09:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 775971)
Day game or night game?

Night game, and the umpires were wearing heather gray pants.

MrUmpire Thu Jul 28, 2011 10:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Larry1953 (Post 775973)
and the umpires were wearing heather gray pants.

So, another game from the past. Your research is outsanding.

zm1283 Thu Jul 28, 2011 10:14pm

I'm with those that say they got it right. Good no call.

SAump Fri Jul 29, 2011 01:38am

Link
 
Strange turn: Jay?s errant throw hits on-deck batter Bourgeois - Big League Stew - MLBBlog - Yahoo! Sports

Altor Fri Jul 29, 2011 08:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Larry1953 (Post 775967)
B/R trotted over to third as if he had been awarded the base.

I'm pretty sure BR trotted over to his coach or ball boy to hand him some equipment. He then went back to second.

ozzy6900 Fri Jul 29, 2011 11:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Illini_Ref (Post 775935)
So by that logic a player (who is not a runner) could INTENTIONALLY get hit with a thrown ball and nothing should be called. I don't think that is the intent.

The rules say a RUNNER cannot INTENTIONALLY interfere with a thrown ball. They also say that players and coaches who are not runners cannot HINDER a fielder's attempt at fielding a thrown ball.

I think it is a poorly written rule, and as has been pointed out, the comment addresses a coach (and invokes intent), although coaches are exempted in the rule and intent is not mentioned.

Let me ask you this:
  1. If the fielder had thrown the ball correctly and not off line, would the ball have hit the on-deck batter?
  2. Was the on-deck batter doing what he was supposed to be doing when the off line throw hit him?
  3. Did the on-deck intentionally put himself in position to get hit with that off line throw?
  4. Did you notice that the PU almost got hit with same throw before the on-deck batter was hit?
Once you answer all of the above questions, you will realize that you are barking up the wrong tree looking for an interference call.

Try and remember that we umpires have to answer all of these questions within a fraction of a second to make the proper call.

Answers:
  1. No
  2. Yes
  3. No
  4. Yes

Larry1953 Fri Jul 29, 2011 04:54pm

If the errant throw had hit the PU instead of the ODB, would the ruling had been the same? I'd imagine so by Ozzy's criteria unless there is a specific rule that covers umpires. The throw could also have hit a catcher's mask, bat, or a detached helmet after the runner slid and it would still be a live ball, correct?

ozzy6900 Fri Jul 29, 2011 08:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Larry1953 (Post 776215)
If the errant throw had hit the PU instead of the ODB, would the ruling had been the same? I'd imagine so by Ozzy's criteria unless there is a specific rule that covers umpires. The throw could also have hit a catcher's mask, bat, or a detached helmet after the runner slid and it would still be a live ball, correct?

I thought you were such a rules person? A throw hitting an umpire anywhere on the field is a live ball.

jeschmit Fri Jul 29, 2011 08:25pm

I was at this game about 3 rows behind the first base dugout. They got the call right, and I had to explain this to about 30 people sitting near me after the play happened.

Larry1953 Fri Jul 29, 2011 09:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ozzy6900 (Post 776261)
I thought you were such a rules person? A throw hitting an umpire anywhere on the field is a live ball.

Well, I thought I knew the rules until I found this site and realized how much I don't know. OK, I think I gotcha here.....if a pitched (and I guess a thrown ball from a fielder) hits the PU such that it gets stuck in his paraphernalia, it's a dead ball, correct? I guess in the days of the balloon it might have happened every now and then, but I've never seen or heard of that happening - although I'm sure you guys have war stories where a ball somehow hopped into a ball bag or something.

Larry1953 Fri Jul 29, 2011 09:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeschmit (Post 776262)
I was at this game about 3 rows behind the first base dugout. They got the call right, and I had to explain this to about 30 people sitting near me after the play happened.

As an Astros fan, I have always admired the St Louis fans for their knowledge and respect of the game and the opponent. I'd imagine several of those fans were quoting rules by number. Best fans in the game, bar none.

yawetag Fri Jul 29, 2011 11:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Larry1953 (Post 776267)
OK, I think I gotcha here.....if a pitched (and I guess a thrown ball from a fielder) hits the PU such that it gets stuck in his paraphernalia, it's a dead ball, correct?

"Hitting" and "lodging" are two completely different things. Any thrown ball that hits an umpire is still alive. Any ball that becomes lodged on an umpire is a dead ball.

Larry1953 Fri Jul 29, 2011 11:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by yawetag (Post 776286)
"Hitting" and "lodging" are two completely different things. Any thrown ball that hits an umpire is still alive. Any ball that becomes lodged on an umpire is a dead ball.

True that. It was my weak attempt at Boolean humor.

Rich Ives Fri Jul 29, 2011 11:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Larry1953 (Post 776267)
Well, I thought I knew the rules until I found this site and realized how much I don't know. OK, I think I gotcha here.....if a pitched (and I guess a thrown ball from a fielder) hits the PU such that it gets stuck in his paraphernalia, it's a dead ball, correct? I guess in the days of the balloon it might have happened every now and then, but I've never seen or heard of that happening - although I'm sure you guys have war stories where a ball somehow hopped into a ball bag or something.

You said "an errant throw . . . "

A throw is not a pitch - which you can find in rule 2.00.

Publius Sat Jul 30, 2011 12:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Larry1953 (Post 776268)
As an Astros fan, I have always admired the St Louis fans for their knowledge and respect of the game and the opponent. I'd imagine several of those fans were quoting rules by number. Best fans in the game, bar none.

Without contradicting your point about Cardinal fans, Red Sox and Tigers fans are every bit as good.

'68 and '06--there's nothing like a Cardinals-Tigers World Series.

Larry1953 Sat Jul 30, 2011 12:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Publius (Post 776295)
Without contradicting your point about Cardinal fans, Red Sox and Tigers fans are every bit as good.

'68 and '06--there's nothing like a Cardinals-Tigers World Series.

No doubt, but I've mainly followed the NL. I'll probably become a Cards fan if the Astros get shifted to the AL. I had the good fortune to see an NLCS game in StL in 1996 vs the Padres. Before the game I stopped by Shannon's. Next to me was a dad with two twenty-something daughters. I overheard them discussing the relative strength of middle relief of teams in the NL Central. I was quite impressed.

yawetag Sat Jul 30, 2011 01:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Larry1953 (Post 776297)
I overheard them discussing the relative strength of middle relief of teams in the NL Central.

Too bad the Cardinals can't find a decent closer.

ozzy6900 Sat Jul 30, 2011 07:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Larry1953 (Post 776267)
Well, I thought I knew the rules until I found this site and realized how much I don't know. OK, I think I gotcha here.....if a pitched (and I guess a thrown ball from a fielder) hits the PU such that it gets stuck in his paraphernalia, it's a dead ball, correct? I guess in the days of the balloon it might have happened every now and then, but I've never seen or heard of that happening - although I'm sure you guys have war stories where a ball somehow hopped into a ball bag or something.

Let's make this easy.

Umpire Interference:

Plate Umpire: If the plate umpire interferes with the catcher's throw to retire a runner, that is interference.

Base Umpire: If a batted ball contacts the umpire in the field before the ball passes a fielder (other than the pitcher), that is interference.

Those are the only 2 ways an umpire can interfere. Thrown balls striking the umpire are nothing, pitched balls striking the umpire are nothing, deflected balls striking the umpire are nothing.

It is all in OBR 2.0(c):
Umpire’s interference occurs (1) when a plate umpire hinders, impedes or prevents a catcher’s throw attempting to prevent a stolen base or retire a runner on a pick-off play, or (2) when a fair ball touches an umpire on fair territory before passing a fielder.

Larry1953 Sat Jul 30, 2011 10:22am

Thanks Ozzy. I only recall U2 being in a position for batted ball interference. I just haven't paid attention to positioning with the 4 man crew.in MLB. Are there situations where U2 would be in front of F4/F6 - what do y'all call it - B or C position? I guess the B/R would be credited with a hit like RI - tough way to lose a no-hitter. Does this happen more with 2 and 3 man crews?

yawetag Sat Jul 30, 2011 11:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Larry1953 (Post 776435)
I just haven't paid attention to positioning with the 4 man crew.in MLB. Are there situations where U2 would be in front of F4/F6 - what do y'all call it - B or C position?

Yes. Without any 4-man experience, I know they put themselves in a "deep" B or C when there's R1 only (and probably anytime there's a runner on 2nd or 2nd can be stolen).

Quote:

Originally Posted by Larry1953 (Post 776435)
I guess the B/R would be credited with a hit like RI

Yep. 10.05(a)(5): The official scorer shall credit a batter with a base hit when a fair ball that has not been touched by a fielder touches a runner or an umpire.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Larry1953 (Post 776435)
Does this happen more with 2 and 3 man crews?

Couldn't tell you for sure. In what I can tell, U2 is inside almost as much as a U1 or U3 would be (except R3 only), so I can't imagine it happens any less frequently.

zm1283 Sat Jul 30, 2011 03:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Larry1953 (Post 776268)
As an Astros fan, I have always admired the St Louis fans for their knowledge and respect of the game and the opponent. I'd imagine several of those fans were quoting rules by number. Best fans in the game, bar none.

I highly doubt that anyone was quoting rules in the stands.

Cardinals fans are the best fans in baseball.....just ask them, they'll tell you about it.

Larry1953 Sat Jul 30, 2011 04:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 776499)
I highly doubt that anyone was quoting rules in the stands.

Cardinals fans are the best fans in baseball.....just ask them, they'll tell you about it.

Well, we know at least one guy who was (jeschmit) :-)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1