The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Feb 12, 2003, 06:44pm
Official Forum Member

Question

I'm new to Fed rules - this will be my first season. Help me understand a point made in class this week. With a runner on first, and no count, the catcher drops the pitch near the plate. The batter nonchalantly bends down, picks up the ball, and hands it to the catcher. This constitutes interference and the ball is dead and the runner stays/returns to first. Is the batter out? Does it matter if the runner was attempting to steal?

What if the batter's actions were obviously unintentional (e.g., he swings and his momentum carries him out of the box where he interferes with the catcher's attempt to throw to a base)?

Is the treatment of any of these situations different than it would be under Pro rules? Thanks for your help.
Old Wed Feb 12, 2003, 08:49pm
Official Forum Member

I didn't think that, even in Fed, a batter picking up a ball as you describe would be interference. Did they tell you the batter should be called out?

Certainly in OBR there has to be a play for interference to occur. In your scenarios, the batter would indeed be out if the runner had been stealing.

If I were the ump, I would still caution the batter that he had done something very risky. I would also call time as soon as the batter touched the ball.

If the batter swings and ends up out of the box, he is risking an interference call. If you allowed batters to let the swing carry them into the catcher, guess what every batter would do whenever somebody was stealing.
Old Wed Feb 12, 2003, 11:37pm
Official Forum Member