The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   OBR rules question about fielder positioning (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/72889-obr-rules-question-about-fielder-positioning.html)

QuinnVT Mon Jun 20, 2011 11:14am

OBR rules question about fielder positioning
 
I can't find in it OBR, but in NFHS, it explicitly states that if a fielder is touching any part of fair territory, he is in fair territory . I am asking this in terms of illegal pitches and 1B straddling the bag to hold runner. Had a coach say 1B foot was in foul terrritory , so P balked. We were playing under NFHS rules so I said he had 1 foot in so he was ok. Coach said that wasn't the OBR rule, but he understood we weren't playing under those rules. OBR doesn't seem to tell me - or more likely I coudn't find it, where if a fielder has 1 foot in foul territory, then if the P throws a pitch, its an illegal pitch/balk.

Rich Ives Mon Jun 20, 2011 11:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by QuinnVT (Post 767059)
I can't find in it OBR, but in NFHS, it explicitly states that if a fielder is touching any part of fair territory, he is in fair territory . I am asking this in terms of illegal pitches and 1B straddling the bag to hold runner. Had a coach say 1B foot was in foul terrritory , so P balked. We were playing under NFHS rules so I said he had 1 foot in so he was ok. Coach said that wasn't the OBR rule, but he understood we weren't playing under those rules. OBR doesn't seem to tell me - or more likely I coudn't find it, where if a fielder has 1 foot in foul territory, then if the P throws a pitch, its an illegal pitch/balk.

The OBR rule says the player must be on fair territory. If one foot is off he's not on.

It's implict in this interpretation from the MLBUM.

2.16 FIRST BASEMAN PLAYING IN FOUL TERRITORY
Official Baseball Rule 4.03 provides that when the ball is put in play at the start of or during a game, all fielders other than the catcher shall be on fair territory. In particular, when holding a runner on first base, the first baseman shall position himself with both feet in fair territory. There is no penalty specified for violation other than the first baseman shall be instructed to keep both feet in fair territory if brought to the attention of the umpire, or-if blatant or recurring violation upon immediate direction of the umpire. If a player, after so directed by the umpire, blatantly refuses to comply, the player is subject to ejection.


It is NOT a balk in OBR. Not ever. Just tell the fielder to get fair.

UmpJM Mon Jun 20, 2011 11:23am

Quinn,

From the MLBUM:

Quote:

2.16 FIRST BASEMAN PLAYING IN FOUL TERRITORY

Official Baseball Rule 4.03 provides that when the ball is put in play at the start of or during a game, all fielders other than the catcher shall be on fair territory. In particular, when holding a runner on first base, the first baseman shall position himself with both feet in fair territory. There is no penalty specified for violation other than the first baseman shall be instructed to keep both feet in fair territory if brought to the attention of the umpire, or-if blatant or recurring violationupon immediate direction of the umpire. If a player, after so directed by the umpire, blatantly refuses to comply, the player is subject to ejection.
It's generally ignored. It's NEVER a balk.

JM

mbyron Mon Jun 20, 2011 02:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) (Post 767064)
Quinn,

From the MLBUM:



It's generally ignored. It's NEVER a balk.

JM

Pro instruction is: ignore it until someone complains, then enforce it equally for both teams.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1