![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
What happened to ball 4
Quote:
Arizona St. vs Texas - Baseball Division I - June 12, 2011 - NCAA.com Wilson's at bat does not. Was he in limbo until ump said ball 4 and thus he was a batter and not a BR and thus called out for BI? Did the pitcher not walk him? What did they do with that pitch? |
|
|||
|
PU came up with BI by pointing towards the BR with his left hand and a fist on the right. He then realized it was ball 4 and seemed to reverse his call. Then Garriso came out to argue and the umpires got together and 4 had a brain freeze. F4 mishandled a mediocre throw to 1B. He took his eyes off the ball and was thinking about the tag. If I was ASU coach, I might have said the magic "P" word.
From what I saw, the BR didn't cross in front of F2 until F2's arm was back by his side. Don't see how that is INT. |
|
|||
|
Condescend much?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
That's not the point. This was a 3rd trimester abortion and totally inexcusable in a Super Regional game. We all have made mistakes, myself included, but to make one like this, which was totally avoidable, is unacceptable. The call itself was bad enough, but to have all 4 guys get together and sustain the bad call? Completely unacceptable.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Maybe (and this is pure speculation, I admit), PU has the BR timing his movement across the plate to get in F2's way ==> intentional interference with a throw. Until (and If) something comes out from NCAA, I don't know that we'll know what happened and whether it was just judgment, or a rule, or what. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
So you are for having judgment calls overturned. Suppose you miss a strike and the other three guys think it was a ball and you called it a strike, is it unacceptable for them to sustain that call? Does it matter the situation. Is it possible that the discussion was to insure that they got the ruling correct on the placement of the runners?
__________________
Tony Carilli |
|
|||
|
OK, you are Tim Esmay. I am Scott Cline. "Tim what exactly is it that you are protesting?" That is, tell us exactly which rule you think is being misapplied here. Remember you can not protest a judgment call.
__________________
Tony Carilli |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Texas v. Nebraska end of game | john_faz | Football | 40 | Mon Dec 14, 2009 09:14am |
| Kansas/Texas Game Sit. | wildcatter | Basketball | 14 | Sun Mar 04, 2007 11:53am |
| Did anyone see the end of the A&M vs Texas game tonight. | mightyvol | Basketball | 50 | Fri Mar 02, 2007 04:55pm |
| Texas Game | SamFanboy | Basketball | 12 | Mon Mar 29, 2004 09:49am |
| MSU vs. Texas game | Zebra1 | Basketball | 4 | Mon Mar 31, 2003 03:20pm |