The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Texas - ASU game 3 (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/72213-texas-asu-game-3-a.html)

txump81 Thu Jun 16, 2011 05:35pm

Lets go back to the video.

ESPN Go to 58:39

Notice after the throw. PU is pointing and signaling the out, then goes 4 fingers up, ball 4. Then points to 1B. The conference and brouhaha doesn't continue until after the conference with Garrido. And if you watch further, you can see the PU make a reference to INT and Ball 4.

Durham Thu Jun 16, 2011 07:06pm

This is freaking awesome. See what great conversations we can have when we use the rules reference. Well done all.

UMP25 Thu Jun 16, 2011 11:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tcarilli (Post 766098)
So, which rule? You seem pretty adamant about this being a misapplication of rules. There is no such thing as a general misapplication only specific misapplications. So again, I ask which rule?

They misapplied the batter interference rule because this could not have been a batter's interference.

UMP25 Thu Jun 16, 2011 11:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by txump81 (Post 766110)
Lets go back to the video.

ESPN Go to 58:39

Notice after the throw. PU is pointing and signaling the out, then goes 4 fingers up, ball 4. Then points to 1B. The conference and brouhaha doesn't continue until after the conference with Garrido. And if you watch further, you can see the PU make a reference to INT and Ball 4.

I watched this a few more times, and all I can say is, "Wow." This was nothing short of a totally botched ruling. My original characterization of this being a 3rd trimester abortion stands.

UMP25 Thu Jun 16, 2011 11:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 766024)
Exactly the same as the play he's referencing. R1 had not reached 2nd yet when F2 made that throw either. EXACTLY the same scenario.

Sorry, no it's not.

UMP25 Thu Jun 16, 2011 11:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tcarilli (Post 766030)
Seriously?

That's putting it mildly.

tcarilli Fri Jun 17, 2011 06:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by UMP25 (Post 766195)
They misapplied the batter interference rule because this could not have been a batter's interference.

OK, I understand your reluctance to give me the rule reference. So, why couldn't it have been batter's interference? When on a 3-2 pitch with the R1 moving can the batter no longer be guilty of interference and why? Remember the catcher can not wait on a close pitch or check swing for the umpire's judgment before throwing to second. So if the batter or batter/runner can not be guilty of interference, does that mean on every three-two pitch that is ball four in this situation has carte blanche on his actions around the plate as long as they are not overtly intentional (eg grabbing the catcher's arm)?

txump81 Fri Jun 17, 2011 06:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tcarilli (Post 766240)
OK, I understand your reluctance to give me the rule reference. So, why couldn't it have been batter's interference? When on a 3-2 pitch with the R1 moving can the batter no longer be guilty of interference and why? Remember the catcher can not wait on a close pitch or check swing for the umpire's judgment before throwing to second. So if the batter or batter/runner can not be guilty of interference, does that mean on every three-two pitch that is ball four in this situation has carte blanche on his actions around the plate as long as they are not overtly intentional (eg grabbing the catcher's arm)?


Look at the other side of the argument as well. If you're going to give the catcher the BI here, why wouldn't a coach have the catcher make that errant throw everytime and get the out?

MD Longhorn Fri Jun 17, 2011 07:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by UMP25 (Post 766195)
They misapplied the batter interference rule because this could not have been a batter's interference.

But no one official has ever said they applied the batter interference rule. In fact, the only published report I've seen that mentions a rule mentions rule 2.50.

MD Longhorn Fri Jun 17, 2011 07:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tcarilli (Post 766240)
So, why couldn't it have been batter's interference?

Because he's no longer a batter. The instant ball four crossed the plate, he's a batter-runner.

UMP25 Fri Jun 17, 2011 08:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 766246)
But no one official has ever said they applied the batter interference rule. In fact, the only published report I've seen that mentions a rule mentions rule 2.50.

It is clear from the play that the PU wasn't utilizing 2.50; rather, he instinctively ruled batter's interference, which it was not. Heck, after realizing it was ball 4--he acknowledged as much--he didn't even follow through with the typical delayed dead ball penalty. Only after Augie complained did he get together with the crew and pull this incorrect ruling out of thin air.

UmpTTS43 Fri Jun 17, 2011 08:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by UMP25 (Post 766251)
It is clear from the play that the PU wasn't utilizing 2.50; rather, he instinctively ruled batter's interference, which it was not. Heck, after realizing it was ball 4--he acknowledged as much--he didn't even follow through with the typical delayed dead ball penalty. Only after Augie complained did he get together with the crew and pull this incorrect ruling out of thin air.

Now that's funny :rolleyes:

MD Longhorn Fri Jun 17, 2011 08:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by umptts43 (Post 766255)
now that's funny :rolleyes:

+1

UMP25 Fri Jun 17, 2011 09:01am

But true.

MD Longhorn Fri Jun 17, 2011 09:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by UMP25 (Post 766260)
But true.

Oh wise one, please enlighten us. Explain the use of the "typical delayed ball penalty" regarding interference by a BR and which rule you're referring to. My book says, "Effect: The ball is dead..."


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1