The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Obstruction on a Steal (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/70598-obstruction-steal.html)

Spence Tue May 24, 2011 09:47am

Obstruction on a Steal
 
Wasn't there so I can only go by the play as it was described.

R1 steals 2nd base. The throw from F2 causes F6 to leap for the ball. Sliding runner makes contact with F6 who then goes to the ground and lands on R1. Obstruction was called.

What would you have to see in this scenario in order to call obstruction? I'm guessing (key word) that simply making contact is not enough in this scenario.

Thanks.

kylejt Tue May 24, 2011 09:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 760771)
The throw from F2 causes F6 to leap for the ball.

I got nothing on this play.

MrUmpire Tue May 24, 2011 09:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 760771)
What would you have to see in this scenario in order to call obstruction?

A different scenario.

Spence Tue May 24, 2011 10:06am

Let's add to it. (A fan from the other team is now weighing in)

F6 gets up to go after the ball and collides with the runner who is now up and attempting to go to 3rd.

Anything?

bob jenkins Tue May 24, 2011 10:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 760778)
Let's add to it. (A fan from the other team is now weighing in)

F6 gets up to go after the ball and collides with the runner who is now up and attempting to go to 3rd.

Anything?

Yes, that's OBS. So is lying on the runner as he's trying to get up.

And, if the OP was FED, it was also OBS if the leap by F6 "denied access" to second base (and that's how it reads to me). Of course, the minimum award in this case would be second, so it might be moot.

MD Longhorn Tue May 24, 2011 01:34pm

Depends ... no one has mentioned whether F6 caught the ball or not.

bob jenkins Tue May 24, 2011 01:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 760835)
Depends ... no one has mentioned whether F6 caught the ball or not.

Well, Spence's "F6 gets up to go after the ball " certainly implies an answer to that.

MD Longhorn Tue May 24, 2011 02:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 760847)
Well, Spence's "F6 gets up to go after the ball " certainly implies an answer to that.

Sure... it would .... if the OP said that... which it doesn't. :) The part where he added something to the play does. Which is what you were responding to. It is not what I was responding to.

Quote:

Obstruction on a Steal
Wasn't there so I can only go by the play as it was described.

R1 steals 2nd base. The throw from F2 causes F6 to leap for the ball. Sliding runner makes contact with F6 who then goes to the ground and lands on R1. Obstruction was called.

What would you have to see in this scenario in order to call obstruction? I'm guessing (key word) that simply making contact is not enough in this scenario.

Thanks.

MikeStrybel Tue May 24, 2011 06:14pm

The NCAA video section has this play for all to see. The throw goes high and by the shortstop. He comes down on the runner and obstruction is called due to impeding. A while back, the series showed a runner leading off first and the ball thrown wide. The first baseman ends up lying on top of the runner as the ball gets away. Again, obstruction was the correct call made.

MrUmpire Tue May 24, 2011 08:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 760863)
Sure... it would .... if the OP said that... which it doesn't. :) The part where he added something to the play does. Which is what you were responding to. It is not what I was responding to.

Dontcha love moving target posts?

Umpmazza Wed May 25, 2011 07:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 760771)
Wasn't there so I can only go by the play as it was described.

R1 steals 2nd base. The throw from F2 causes F6 to leap for the ball. Sliding runner makes contact with F6 who then goes to the ground and lands on R1. Obstruction was called.

What would you have to see in this scenario in order to call obstruction? I'm guessing (key word) that simply making contact is not enough in this scenario.

Thanks.

This is not OBS as F6 is "Attempting to field the ball" so there is nothing.

MikeStrybel Wed May 25, 2011 08:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Umpmazza (Post 761094)
This is not OBS as F6 is "Attempting to field the ball" so there is nothing.

In NCAA ball it is. The video attests.

MD Longhorn Wed May 25, 2011 09:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Umpmazza (Post 761094)
This is not OBS as F6 is "Attempting to field the ball" so there is nothing.

Wrong answer, thank you for playing. Here's your Rice-A-Roni.

Rich Ives Wed May 25, 2011 10:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 761133)
Wrong answer, thank you for playing. Here's your Rice-A-Roni.

It's not a wrong answer in OBR and NCAA (who just changed their rule back to basically the OBR rule).

It may or may not be a wrong answer in LL as their interp says if a bad throw draws a fielder into the path it's not obstruction.

It may be in FED.

bob jenkins Wed May 25, 2011 10:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MikeStrybel (Post 761110)
In NCAA ball it is. The video attests.

From the NCAA Coordinators Call 3/1/11:

b. F2 moving a step or two up the line + immediate act of fielding a throw + collision = no obstruction but the base runner is still held accountable for a flagrant or malicious slide

c. F2 chasing an errant throw + collision = obstruction.

In the OP, F6 "leaps" for the ball. My guess is that it was more like play (b) than play (c).

MD Longhorn Wed May 25, 2011 11:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 761160)
It's not a wrong answer in OBR and NCAA (who just changed their rule back to basically the OBR rule).

It may or may not be a wrong answer in LL as their interp says if a bad throw draws a fielder into the path it's not obstruction.

It may be in FED.

Laying on top of a runner AFTER the ball has gotten away is most definitely obstruction.

MrUmpire Wed May 25, 2011 12:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 761164)
From the NCAA Coordinators Call 3/1/11:

b. F2 moving a step or two up the line + immediate act of fielding a throw + collision = no obstruction but the base runner is still held accountable for a flagrant or malicious slide

c. F2 chasing an errant throw + collision = obstruction.

In the OP, F6 "leaps" for the ball. My guess is that it was more like play (b) than play (c).


Some received an email on that as well. Rule interpretations are dynamic things.

MikeStrybel Wed May 25, 2011 02:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 761164)
From the NCAA Coordinators Call 3/1/11:

b. F2 moving a step or two up the line + immediate act of fielding a throw + collision = no obstruction but the base runner is still held accountable for a flagrant or malicious slide

c. F2 chasing an errant throw + collision = obstruction.

In the OP, F6 "leaps" for the ball. My guess is that it was more like play (b) than play (c).

I responded to Spence changing the OP. The video I mentioned was shown at the NCAA Chicago meetings in January. I specifically remarked what type of play I was discussing in my post. It was not the OP.

I received the NCAA and CBUA rule interps, as well. Evolving plays make baseball rules discussion dynamic, to borrow a term. There is no need to keep stating what someone else did. Spence changed the play and the ruling I provided is exactly what the NCAA wants called.

Rich Ives Wed May 25, 2011 05:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 761175)
Laying on top of a runner AFTER the ball has gotten away is most definitely obstruction.

But that's not the situation and comment that led to my response.

Umpmazza Wed May 25, 2011 08:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 761160)
It's not a wrong answer in OBR and NCAA (who just changed their rule back to basically the OBR rule).

It may or may not be a wrong answer in LL as their interp says if a bad throw draws a fielder into the path it's not obstruction.

It may be in FED.

thanks Rich.

Umpmazza Wed May 25, 2011 08:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 761133)
Wrong answer, thank you for playing. Here's your Rice-A-Roni.

Maybe you should re read the NCAA again... thanks ..and just so you know I do like Rice-A-Roni

Here is the rule so you dont have to go look it up.. Princess..

A.R. 1 - If the fielder is about to receive a thrown ball and the ball is in flight directly toward and near enough to the fielder so he must occupy his position to receive the throw, he may be considered "in the act of fielding the ball." So it looks like this is what happen in the OP

A.R. 2 - When a fielder has made an attempt to field a batted or thrown ball, has missed and is in pursuit of the ball, he may no longer be considered "in the act" of fielding.

MikeStrybel Thu May 26, 2011 06:19am

A few of us had this discussion at the NCAA meetings in January. A person 'leaping to contain a thrown ball' is not occupying a position. He abandoned his position when he took to the air to catch an errant throw.

In the OP, the defensive miscue caused the fielder to end up on top of the runner. Penalizing those at fault would be the consideration. While this is HTBT, the description shows the runner sliding INTO the base when the fielder collides with him.

MD Longhorn Thu May 26, 2011 08:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Umpmazza (Post 761347)
Princess..

Princess? What's your problem? I didn't insult you - why do you feel the need to insult me?

Quote:

A.R. 1 - If the fielder is about to receive a thrown ball and the ball is in flight directly toward and near enough to the fielder so he must occupy his position to receive the throw, he may be considered "in the act of fielding the ball." So it looks like this is what happen in the OP

A.R. 2 - When a fielder has made an attempt to field a batted or thrown ball, has missed and is in pursuit of the ball, he may no longer be considered "in the act" of fielding.

So, "F6 gets up to go after the ball and collides with the runner who is now up and attempting to go to 3rd." doesn't sound a little more like AR2 than AR1 to you? Sure does to me - hence the OBS ruling.

MD Longhorn Thu May 26, 2011 08:21am

Honestly, sounds like UmpM and Rich are refering solely to the OP and not to the additional information the OPer gave. Which may explain why they are calling nothing and I'm calling OBS.

Umpmazza Thu May 26, 2011 08:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 761463)
Princess? What's your problem? I didn't insult you - why do you feel the need to insult me?



So, "F6 gets up to go after the ball and collides with the runner who is now up and attempting to go to 3rd." doesn't sound a little more like AR2 than AR1 to you? Sure does to me - hence the OBS ruling.

well.. I was just getting back at you for the rice a roni comment.. I really didnt mean it in a bad way.. Im sorry.. was just having some fun..


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1