The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Weird "is it a Balk"? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/70281-weird-balk.html)

dileonardoja Fri May 20, 2011 11:38am

Weird "is it a Balk"?
 
13U OBR, R1 & R3. F1 comes set, R1 takes off for 2B while F1 is set. F1, while engaged wheels around to throw to second but noticing that no one is covering holds onto the ball. OC wants a balk for a myriad of reasons (he didn't disengage, attempted to throw to an unoccupied base and what ever else he was hollering about).

I had no attempt to commit to pitch, he gained distance toward 2B in an attempt to make a play there. However it turned into a feint when F1 didn't release the ball.

So in the end we had a feint to an unoccupied base in an attempt to make a play. Is that a balk?

bob jenkins Fri May 20, 2011 12:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dileonardoja (Post 759907)
13U OBR, R1 & R3. F1 comes set, R1 takes off for 2B while F1 is set. F1, while engaged wheels around to throw to second but noticing that no one is covering holds onto the ball. OC wants a balk for a myriad of reasons (he didn't disengage, attempted to throw to an unoccupied base and what ever else he was hollering about).

I had no attempt to commit to pitch, he gained distance toward 2B in an attempt to make a play there. However it turned into a feint when F1 didn't release the ball.

So in the end we had a feint to an unoccupied base in an attempt to make a play. Is that a balk?

Not a balk.

Ump Rube Fri May 20, 2011 12:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 759921)
not a balk.

+1

MD Longhorn Fri May 20, 2011 12:59pm

The thing to think of when odd things like this happen is... what rule did he break. If you can't come up with one, it's not a balk, even when it's goofy looking.

Rufus Fri May 20, 2011 01:15pm

Would the relevant Fed rule be 6-2-4b:

[Illegal acts include: balk. If there is a runner or runners, any of the following acts by a pitcher while he is touching the pitcher's plate is a balk: failing to step with the non-pivot foot directly toward a base (occupied or unoccupied) when throwing or feinting there in an attempt to put out, or drive back a runner; or throwing or feinting to any unoccupied base when it is not an attempt to put out or drive back a runner;

Since F1 in the example stepped directly to 2nd, whether it was occupied or not, it would not be a balk. Correct?

Would the relevant OBR be 8.05c-d?

DG Fri May 20, 2011 06:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 759921)
Not a balk.

Seems to be opposite of intent for allowing a pitcher to wheel and throw to unoccupied base if he don't throw.

ozzy6900 Fri May 20, 2011 06:54pm

The only base that F1 cannot feint to - while engaged with the rubber - is 1st base. F1 can feint to 2nd or 3rd any time he wants.

bob jenkins Fri May 20, 2011 09:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DG (Post 759987)
Seems to be opposite of intent for allowing a pitcher to wheel and throw to unoccupied base if he don't throw.

But a runner was advancing to the base. So, the feint (or the throw) is allowed.

justanotherblue Fri May 20, 2011 11:36pm

Something I learned a long time ago and have seen repeated on this forum many times.....You CAN'T balk to second base.

mbyron Sat May 21, 2011 07:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ozzy6900 (Post 759988)
The only base that F1 cannot feint to - while engaged with the rubber - is 1st base. F1 can feint to 2nd or 3rd any time he wants...

...provided the base is occupied or for the purpose of making a play, as in the OP.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1