![]() |
couple more questions
Hey Gang,
I have a couple of more questions. Official Rules 1) 1 out. Runner on third steals home and gets hit by pitch that is in the strike zone. Do you count the run? Rule Ref? 2) What do you do if an object that comes out of the stands interferes with an outfielder making a catch and cuases him to drop the ball? Example, outfielder gets hit in the head by one of those huge beach balls just as as he is about to make the catch. Not sure about this one because spectator interference only occurs if a spectator physically interferes with the play, right? Rule Ref? Thanks so much |
Tweet,
1. Unless the pitch was the 3rd strike for the 3rd out of the half inning, score the run. The ball is dead and each runner is awarded 1 base from his TOP base. 5.09(h). 2. It's spectator interference. Kill it and place runners/award outs according to your best judgement of what would have happened had the fielder not been interfered with. JM |
Quote:
Without meaning this to sound mean, you will learn more if you try to look up the answers yourself before just asking them here. Then, ask for clarification, or tell us what you think the answer is and why. |
Can someone post 5.09h? Don't have the book here at work.
|
5.09 The ball becomes dead and runners advance one base, or return to their bases, without liability to be put out, when— (h) Any legal pitch touches a runner trying to score; runners advance.
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09pm. |