The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Feinting to First (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/68672-feinting-first.html)

JohnDorian37 Mon May 02, 2011 02:02pm

Feinting to First
 
is there any situation in which a pitcher (without disengaging the plate) can feint to first and it not be a balk (with runners on)?

UmpTTS43 Mon May 02, 2011 02:09pm

There are exactly zero instances where a pitcher can feign to first while in contact with the rubber.

MD Longhorn Mon May 02, 2011 02:13pm

He cannot feign. He can faint (assuming he keeps his feet on the rubber). Not sure what feinting is.

mbyron Mon May 02, 2011 03:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 755221)
He cannot feign. He can faint (assuming he keeps his feet on the rubber). Not sure what feinting is.

'Feint' is the correct spelling, Mike, and as you know by rule F1 may not do it toward occupied 1B without disengaging.

jicecone Mon May 02, 2011 09:11pm

In summary, ........................

NO

DG Mon May 02, 2011 09:12pm

Feign and Feint are both in my Websters and you guys know what he means so not sure why the ticky tack. I don't think I would call a balk for a faint, regardless.

UmpJM Mon May 02, 2011 09:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DG (Post 755323)
... I don't think I would call a balk for a faint, regardless.

DG,

Concur.

I had "TIME" as soon as I saw him starting to faint - which was before anyone else noticed.

Concur on the "feign and feint" as well.

JM

yawetag Mon May 02, 2011 11:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 755221)
He cannot feign. He can faint (assuming he keeps his feet on the rubber). Not sure what feinting is.

I think if a pitcher faints at all while on the rubber and runners on base, we're getting a balk. And a new pitcher.

justanotherblue Mon May 02, 2011 11:59pm

Only when the ball wasn't in play, and never when he faints.

dash_riprock Tue May 03, 2011 07:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 755221)
He can faint (assuming he keeps his feet on the rubber).

Now that would be a neat trick.

yawetag Tue May 03, 2011 08:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dash_riprock (Post 755423)
Now that would be a neat trick.

Dash, if it happened, would you balk him for starting and stopping? I guess if the ball fell out of his glove and didn't cross the foul line, that would work, too.

Forest Ump Tue May 03, 2011 10:19am

I'm not letting him play the rest of the game if he does that. Doctors note or not.;)

MD Longhorn Tue May 03, 2011 10:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DG (Post 755323)
Feign and Feint are both in my Websters and you guys know what he means so not sure why the ticky tack. I don't think I would call a balk for a faint, regardless.

Failed attempt at humor. My bad!

celebur Tue May 03, 2011 01:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 755477)
Failed attempt at humor. My bad!

Failed attempt? Or feigned attempt? ;)

Coach Dykhoff Tue May 03, 2011 01:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JohnDorian37 (Post 755216)
is there any situation in which a pitcher (without disengaging the plate) can feint to first and it not be a balk (with runners on)?

=====
MLB RULEBOOK

8.05 If there is a runner, or runners, it is a balk when—

(b) The pitcher, while touching his plate, feints a throw to first base and fails to complete the throw;

=====

Coach Dykhoff Tue May 03, 2011 01:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by yawetag (Post 755441)
Dash, if it happened, would you balk him for starting and stopping? I guess if the ball fell out of his glove and didn't cross the foul line, that would work, too.

=====

MLB RULEBOOK

8.05 If there is a runner, or runners, it is a balk when—

(k) The pitcher, while touching his plate, accidentally or intentionally drops the ball;

=====

You can not drop the ball while you are on the mound. The foul line has nothing to do with this rule.

Rich Ives Tue May 03, 2011 02:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Dykhoff (Post 755524)
=====

MLB RULEBOOK

8.05 If there is a runner, or runners, it is a balk when—

(k) The pitcher, while touching his plate, accidentally or intentionally drops the ball;

=====

You can not drop the ball while you are on the mound. The foul line has nothing to do with this rule.

Yes it does - if you read the interpretations you will find that if it crosses the foul line it's ruled a ball, not a balk.

MrUmpire Tue May 03, 2011 02:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 755541)
Yes it does - if you read the interpretations you will find that if it crosses the foul line it's ruled a ball, not a balk.

That interpretation is specifically cited when the ball is dropped during a pitch, not a throw to first. And, if I recall, since I don't have my book with me, JEA makes a distinction between the two.

Rich Ives Tue May 03, 2011 02:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrUmpire (Post 755549)
That interpretation is specifically cited when the ball is dropped during a pitch, not a throw to first. And, if I recall, since I don't have my book with me, JEA makes a distinction between the two.

Actually the MLBUM says if a pitched ball slips .. .

So Andy Pettitte starts his delivery from set and drops the ball. Given his "move" how do you distinguish whether it was a pitch or not?

Or a pitcher does a "swing back" toward 2B, from which he can either pitch or go to 2B, and drops the ball - how do you distinguish?

Ball hits the ground and rolls obver the line - ball.

That;s my story and I'm sticking to it.

Coach Dykhoff Tue May 03, 2011 02:46pm

If he drops the ball while he is on the rubber it is a balk.

MrUmpire Tue May 03, 2011 02:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 755556)
Actually the MLBUM says if a pitched ball slips .. .

So Andy Pettitte starts his delivery from set and drops the ball. Given his "move" how do you distinguish whether it was a pitch or not?

Or a pitcher does a "swing back" toward 2B, from which he can either pitch or go to 2B, and drops the ball - how do you distinguish?

Ball hits the ground and rolls obver the line - ball.

That;s my story and I'm sticking to it.


That's okay. I understand you and many others feel that way. I'm just saying that the interps you referred to do not back you up. They specifically mention a "pitched" ball, not a ball dropped when the pitcher is not in the process of delivering a pitch.

Coach Dykhoff Tue May 03, 2011 02:55pm

YouTube - Pitching from the Stretch Basics

1:16

Youtube - Balk Rules

1:19

Rich Ives Tue May 03, 2011 05:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Dykhoff (Post 755568)

youtube isn't exactly the prime source for this.

Try getting the Evans balk video from his web site.

Coach Dykhoff Tue May 03, 2011 06:05pm

I will use another rule citation then.

=====

MLB RULE 8.01

(d) If the pitcher makes an illegal pitch with the bases unoccupied, it shall be called a ball unless the batter reaches first base on a hit, an error, a base on balls, a hit batter or otherwise.

Rule 8.01(d) Comment: A ball which slips out of a pitcher’s hand and crosses the foul line shall be called a ball; otherwise it will be called no pitch. This would be a balk with men on base.

=====

justanotherblue Tue May 03, 2011 08:11pm

Coach read 801d comment again slowly this time.....

Rule 8.01(d) Comment: A ball which slips out of a pitcher’s hand and crosses the foul line shall be called a ball; otherwise it will be called no pitch. This would be a balk with men on base.

So, if a dropped ball doesn't cross the line, it's a balk, with runners on. If it crosses the line, it's a ball. Can't make it any clearer than that. That said, chances are if a pitcher drops the ball while on the rubber it's not going to cross the foul lines. Therefore you'll have your balk.

Coach Dykhoff Tue May 03, 2011 08:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by justanotherblue (Post 755661)
Coach read 801d comment again slowly this time.....

Rule 8.01(d) Comment: A ball which slips out of a pitcher’s hand and crosses the foul line shall be called a ball; otherwise it will be called no pitch. This would be a balk with men on base.

So, if a dropped ball doesn't cross the line, it's a balk, with runners on. If it crosses the line, it's a ball. Can't make it any clearer than that.

The second sentence is classifying "both" of the scenerios listed in the first sentence (The ball and no pitch). Instead of it being called a no pitch if it doesn't cross the line it is called a balk.

justanotherblue Tue May 03, 2011 08:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Dykhoff (Post 755664)
You might want to read it slowly. The second sentence is classifying "both" of the scenerios listed in the first sentence (The ball and no pitch). Instead of it being called a no pitch if it doesn't cross the line it is called a balk.

Let me try this one more time. The second ISN'T classifying "both". It's telling you that a ball that slips out of a pitcher's hand and crosses the foul line is a ball, not a balk. It is also telling you that a pitch/slip out of a pitchers hand with no runners on base is a no pitch, should it not cross a foul line. The last portion is telling you that if the ball doesn't cross the foul lines and there are runners on base, it's a balk. Just as Rich and other's have tried to tell you. But were just umpires here, not coaches, so also check out the MLBUM, JEA, Jaksa/Roder as well as BRD, all cover this particular play. Because to fully comprehend the rules of baseball, you need to reference the above mentioned manuals, in order to be a competent umpire and or understand the rules of baseball.

SanDiegoSteve Tue May 03, 2011 08:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Dykhoff (Post 755664)
You might want to read it slowly. The second sentence is classifying "both" of the scenerios listed in the first sentence (The ball and no pitch). Instead of it being called a no pitch if it doesn't cross the line it is called a balk.

This is a grammatical error in the rules. With runners on, if the dropped ball crosses the foul line, it is a ball, not a balk. Otherwise, it's a balk. With no runners, it is a ball if it crosses the foul line, and No Pitch if it doesn't. That's the rule.

Jim Evans has identified over 235 errors in the rulebook, and not all of them have been fixed yet.

Coach Dykhoff Tue May 03, 2011 08:50pm

So this rule has nothing to do with it?

=====

MLB RULEBOOK

8.05 If there is a runner, or runners, it is a balk when—

(k) The pitcher, while touching his plate, accidentally or intentionally drops the ball;

=====

SanDiegoSteve Tue May 03, 2011 09:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Dykhoff (Post 755673)
So this rule has nothing to do with it?

=====

MLB RULEBOOK

8.05 If there is a runner, or runners, it is a balk when—

(k) The pitcher, while touching his plate, accidentally or intentionally drops the ball;

=====

If you can produce one single piece of documented evidence of a dropped, not thrown, ball rolling into foul territory from the pitching rubber, I will continue this ridiculous discussion. Perhaps the rule needs to be rewritten so it matches 8.01(d), the other poorly worded rule.

As was stated, we don't just go by the rule book for decisions. This is at all levels of baseball, including professional. We as umpires use all the alphabet soup-named manuals that were already mentioned, which include casebook plays and official interpretations by the governing powers at each level of baseball.

Coach Dykhoff Tue May 03, 2011 09:14pm

Gotcha

Coach Dykhoff Tue May 03, 2011 09:19pm

It seems like you can't prove me wrong and I can't prove you wrong with documentation. It apprears that the two sections of the rule contridict each other. Agree to disagree.

Adam Tue May 03, 2011 09:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Dykhoff (Post 755682)
It seems like you can't prove me wrong and I can't prove you wrong with documentation. It apprears that the two sections of the rule contridict each other. Agree to disagree.

As neither a coach nor umpire, I'll side with the umpire when the two disagree.

Coach Dykhoff Tue May 03, 2011 09:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 755693)
As neither a coach nor umpire, I'll side with the umpire when the two disagree.

Parking lots make decisions... j/k :)

justanotherblue Tue May 03, 2011 11:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Dykhoff (Post 755682)
It seems like you can't prove me wrong and I can't prove you wrong with documentation. It apprears that the two sections of the rule contridict each other. Agree to disagree.

It's not as much as proving one side wrong over the other, it's a matter of reading a complete rule, putting all it's pieces together and applying it.

bob jenkins Wed May 04, 2011 07:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Dykhoff (Post 755673)
So this rule has nothing to do with it?

=====

MLB RULEBOOK

8.05 If there is a runner, or runners, it is a balk when—

(k) The pitcher, while touching his plate, accidentally or intentionally drops the ball;

=====

My understanding (and I might be wrong):

A "Dropped" ball will never cross the foul line. So, 8.05(k) is correct.

A "Slipped Pitch" might or might not cross the foul line. If it does, it's a ball; if it doesn't it's either "no pitch" or "balk" depending on runners. so, 8.01(d) CMT is correct.

So, the rules don't conflict (although they could be clearer).

MD Longhorn Wed May 04, 2011 04:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Dykhoff (Post 755682)
It seems like you can't prove me wrong and I can't prove you wrong with documentation. It apprears that the two sections of the rule contridict each other. Agree to disagree.

No, it's not agree to disagree. You think that this sentence has NEVER been discussed at the various clinics across the country.

Quick question - which of you has been to an umpiring clinic? This isn't exactly the only semi-ambiguous spot (or awful grammar, etc) in the rulebook. This is one of the things we cover at clinics. Feel free to hold on to your incorrect interp, since you've not been to one. Any umpire who has will call this right. You'll still think he's wrong because you've not discussed this with the people who make such interpretations. It's not agree to disagree - you are being told the correct answer, so it's really you insisting on being right in the face of the correct answer.

Coach Dykhoff Wed May 04, 2011 08:14pm

I bet you are a real joy to work with on the diamond.

I have seen this call, called both way so that crap about it being called the right way is dumb. Just because someone has been to a clinic doesn't mean they know the rule properly, just the interpretation of the one holding the clinic. I have been to coaching clinics that still have a batter lifting their back elbow.

I gave you a section that stated a dropped ball is a balk (How many dropped balls go foul from the set?). Another section was given that a ball must cross the foul line. I go by words in documents, not he said/ she said.

Apperantly you have something against me or coaches all around, because you have tried to bash me in two threads. That is fine but anything you have to say to me from now on will fall on deaf ears.

asdf Wed May 04, 2011 08:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Dykhoff (Post 756035)
I gave you a section that stated a dropped ball is a balk (How many dropped balls go foul from the set?). Another section was given that a ball must cross the foul line. I go by words in documents, not he said/ she said.

And you were given the reason why the ruling is contrary to what you think, yet that's not good enough for you.

Tell you what, next time this happens in one of your games, pull out your rule book, go out to discuss the ruling with the crew while you wave your highlighted section at the umpires.

You'll find out in due time what they think of your assessment of the situation.

Coach Dykhoff Wed May 04, 2011 08:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Dykhoff (Post 755682)
It seems like you can't prove me wrong and I can't prove you wrong with documentation. It apprears that the two sections of the rule contridict each other. Agree to disagree.

This was said.

It was good enough for me.

DBull Thu May 05, 2011 07:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by asdf (Post 756040)

Tell you what, next time this happens in one of your games, pull out your rule book, go out to discuss the ruling with the crew while you wave your highlighted section at the umpires.

You'll find out in due time what they think of your assessment of the situation.

In my game he will be reading the highlights on the bus (or where-ever)

MD Longhorn Thu May 05, 2011 10:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Dykhoff (Post 756035)
I bet you are a real joy to work with on the diamond.

What's with the personal attack?

Quote:

I have seen this call, called both way so that crap about it being called the right way is dumb. Just because someone has been to a clinic doesn't mean they know the rule properly, just the interpretation of the one holding the clinic. I have been to coaching clinics that still have a batter lifting their back elbow.
The clinics (generally) are held by people who are getting their direction from TPTB. When something is a bit muddy in the rulebook (this sitch is CERTAINLY not the only place), it gets talked about. It gets pushed up the ladder for "official" rulings. SOMETIMES (although not nearly fast enough for any of our taste) it even gets fixed or clarified in the rulebook. But you need to realize that if an umpire is actually trained, and not just some local yahoo that umpires because he can't play anymore, they are going over situations just like this, getting official interps. I know this particular one has been mentioned more than once in clinics I've attended. That interp, which most of us here have heard, far outweighs a coach reading the book and seeing an apparent discrepancy, and then guessing.

Quote:

Apperantly you have something against me or coaches all around, because you have tried to bash me in two threads. That is fine but anything you have to say to me from now on will fall on deaf ears.
Where did I bash you? I do "bash" things people say, especially when they are as uninformed as what you said in this thread. But I don't believe I've personally attacked you, other than my gradually increasing suspicion that you are a pseudonym for someone that trolled the area and was booted the very day you showed up.

MD Longhorn Thu May 05, 2011 10:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Dykhoff (Post 756045)
This was said.

It was good enough for me.

:confused: Of course it was good enough for you... YOU said it. Good grief.

Coach Dykhoff Thu May 05, 2011 11:12am

Quote:

But I don't believe I've personally attacked you, other than my gradually increasing suspicion that you are a pseudonym for someone that trolled the area and was booted the very day you showed up.
I get what you are saying. Ask a administrator/ moderator to do a IP check and that will put the issue to rest.

bob jenkins Thu May 05, 2011 11:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Dykhoff (Post 756275)
I get what you are saying. Ask a administrator/ moderator to do a IP check and that will put the issue to rest.

that's been done and while it can "prove" one side of the issue, it can't "prove" the other.

Coach Dykhoff Thu May 05, 2011 11:52am

Huh, if you prove one side doesn't it disprove the other? I never understood math.

bob jenkins Thu May 05, 2011 12:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Dykhoff (Post 756288)
Huh, if you prove one side doesn't it disprove the other? I never understood math.

It's very hard to prove a negative.

asdf Thu May 05, 2011 12:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DBull (Post 756186)
In my game he will be reading the highlights on the bus (or where-ever)

My guess is he'll take the down time to brush up on his copy of "Umpiring for Dummies" by Tim McCarver. ;)

Adam Fri May 06, 2011 09:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Dykhoff (Post 756288)
Huh, if you prove one side doesn't it disprove the other? I never understood math.

It's not math, it's a logic problem.

It's a non sequitur to go from "If A then B" to "If not A, then not B."


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1