The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 28, 2011, 02:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: WI
Posts: 825
fubar on dropped third strike

runners on 1st and 2nd with 2 out and a 3-2 count on batter. On pitch runners take off and F2 drops called strike 3 and batter tears off for first. I am BU and position myself for the play at first. F2 throws ball over head of F3 and R1 and R2 keep advancing. BR stays on bag at first while F3 makes throw to plate - but no play there. Time is called.

Coach comes out and appeals runners advancing says UIC called BR out saying he couldn't advance as 1st base was occupied. - visiting HC is out saying it was a dropped 3rd strike and legal. UIC calls me in and asked what I had. I told him that observed that BR was safe at 1st and R2 scored and R1 safe at third. He gets deer in headlight look and tells me that he said "strike three - batters out". Don't ask my why - he knows better - has more experience than me. He says he wants to change call and correct mistake.

I may very well be wrong - but we put BR on first as he reached 1st safely regardless of what UIC said. R2 was placed at 3rd adn R1 was placed at second. We advanced them 1 base from time of pitch as some players "stopped playing" when UIC called BR out -0 which would have been 3rd out of inning.

How could I have done better from BU position. I know that UIC should only have called strike three without saying anything else.

What say you?
__________________
When I want your opinion - I'll give it to you!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 28, 2011, 02:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The worlds of H.S., JUCCO, D3 - D1 baseball.
Posts: 61
Wanna get away?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 28, 2011, 02:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 105
How can I say anything... "Time Out" is called and I am standing on edge of grass letting my partner sit in the grease a little while.

Did F2 throw it over F3's head because UIC said he was out?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 28, 2011, 04:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
I guess the real question is - did the umpire's call alter anything. If not (and it sounds like not as they kept playing), there's nothing to fix. He didn't say "TIME" or "Dead Ball!" or otherwise kill the play. An out doesn't kill the play, and in some cases, even an apparent 3rd out might not kill it.

I think you've got a run in and nothing to fix here.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 28, 2011, 04:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: WI
Posts: 825
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post

I think you've got a run in and nothing to fix here.
That is what I was wondering. However, some players did stop playing - ie Right Fielder was actually running in toward dugout instead of backing up 1st baseman which is why we went the other way. Just didn't feel quite right.
__________________
When I want your opinion - I'll give it to you!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 28, 2011, 05:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
Gotta eat it

I would let PU explain his call and send coach back to the dugout with two outs.
__________________
SAump
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 28, 2011, 06:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 755
Quote:
Originally Posted by chartrusepengui View Post
ie Right Fielder was actually running in toward dugout instead of backing up 1st baseman which is why we went the other way.
I find it hard to believe that F9 heard the PU say "Batter's out" if you didn't hear it. It appears to me that F9 ASSUMED batter was out due to a runner being on 1B.

As others said, let the play stand the way it finished.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 28, 2011, 11:42pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by chartrusepengui View Post
R1, R2, 2 out 3-2 runners moving; F2 drops called strike 3 B advances to first. I am BU; B-R safe at first; R1 and R2 to 3B/scored. Time. Coach comes out and appeals runners advancing says UIC called BR out. PU says he wants to change call and correct mistake.
Quote:
Fine, let him.
BR on first as etc etc etc
Anything you and PU do at this point is going to be a fiasco, just let PU do whatever he wants.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Swinging Strike + Hit Batter + Dropped 3rd Strike bfoster Baseball 19 Sun May 17, 2009 08:30pm
Dropped third strike LLPA13UmpDan Baseball 67 Sun Jan 28, 2007 02:42am
dropped third strike tsa4 Baseball 5 Thu Aug 14, 2003 07:28am
Dropped third strike Bob Lyle Baseball 9 Sun Aug 10, 2003 11:54am
Dropped third strike ref5678 Baseball 6 Wed Jul 17, 2002 09:19pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1