The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Dixie Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/67575-dixie-baseball.html)

sprivitor Mon Apr 18, 2011 10:26pm

Dixie Baseball
 
Any Dixie baseball (any level) umpires here?

Have a question. Thanks in advance for any response!

Batter shows bunt, does not remove bat from strike zone, does not offer at the ball. In Dixie Youth or Dixie Boys, is this a strike?

Steve

Rich Ives Mon Apr 18, 2011 10:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by sprivitor (Post 751614)
Any Dixie baseball (any level) umpires here?

Have a question. Thanks in advance for any response!

Batter shows bunt, does not remove bat from strike zone, does not offer at the ball. In Dixie Youth or Dixie Boys, is this a strike?

Steve

Only if the rule book specifically says it's a strike. Look for wording that says it is if the batter does not pull the bat back.

Otherwise - no.

rcaverly Wed Apr 20, 2011 02:55pm

In the NFHS it's not, but it is called in "big boy" ball.

Rich Ives Wed Apr 20, 2011 05:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rcaverly (Post 752137)
In the NFHS it's not, but it is called in "big boy" ball.

HUH? Where? It's wrong if they do.

Some SOFTball has a pull back rule. Baseball does not.

Rich Wed Apr 20, 2011 05:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rcaverly (Post 752137)
In the NFHS it's not, but it is called in "big boy" ball.

Really? Where? Not in any ball I call.

DG Wed Apr 20, 2011 08:23pm

I don't think this is a strike anywhere, any league, any rules.

pastordoug Wed Apr 20, 2011 10:15pm

In Dixie ball, as well as all other ball, it is not a strike. Just wondering why you would ask such a question? Was it ruled a strike during a game you were at?

tidefanintenn Wed Apr 20, 2011 10:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by sprivitor (Post 751614)
Any Dixie baseball (any level) umpires here?

Have a question. Thanks in advance for any response!

Batter shows bunt, does not remove bat from strike zone, does not offer at the ball. In Dixie Youth or Dixie Boys, is this a strike?

Steve

This is not a strike in Dixie youth unless the umpires deems the batter offered at the pitch. No movement would not constitute an attempt to offer at the pitch. Call this pitch were it is as a ball or a strike due to location not because the batter had squared to bunt. Dixie youth has a few safety and pitching rules for itself but refers to OBR in all other suituations.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1