![]() |
Base Award Question
Saw an odd play yesterday: In an NCAA D1 game with runners at 1B and 3B, the offense tried the double steal. As the catcher threw down to 2B, the runner at 3B broke for home. The second baseman caught the ball as the runner from 1B pulled up short of 2B. Then, the second baseman tried to fire home and threw it directly into the pitcher's back. The ball bounced all the way into the dugout.
Of course, the lead runner was awarded home. Initially, the other runner was awarded 3B, but after a conference between the umps, he was awarded home. The defensive coach came out for an explanation, but after a brief discussion, he was fine with it and went back to the dugout. I know that I must be missing something (especially considering the defensive coach was fine with it), but does anyone know why he may have been awarded home? |
Quote:
|
Fan10, TOT = Time Of Throw. ;) My bet is the umpires explained to the coach that R1 made 2B before the ball found the dugout.
Blue blew it. |
If R1 "pulled up short" then likely he had not reached at TOT.
|
I was thinking that just possibly the umps went by the time the throw hit F1, as if he "threw" the ball when it bounced off him. But it's more likely that the runner had advanced well past 2B when the ball entered DBT, and the umps were simply fooled into making the wrong call. I've seen that particular flub several times (but not at the college level).
About 10 years ago, I was PU when R2 was off with the pitch, which got away from F2 toward the bench. R2 rounded 3B and appeared to be going to score when the ball entered DBT. The coach was outraged when I sent the runner back to 3B, and I could hear him explaining to sympathetic "fans" behind the bench how according to "the rule," the runner should have been awarded home. Something about the runner's being "more than halfway when the ball went out." |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48am. |