The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Balk w/hit batsman (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/63306-balk-w-hit-batsman.html)

rbmartin Thu Feb 24, 2011 09:21am

Balk w/hit batsman
 
Quote:

Rule 8.05 If there is a runner, or runners, it is a balk when.........
PENALTY: The ball is dead, and each runner shall advance one base without liability to be put out, unless the batter reaches first on a hit, an error, a base on balls, a hit batter, or otherwise, and all other runners advance at least one base, in which case the play proceeds without reference to the balk.
So with a runner on third and the pitcher balks immediately before hitting the batter, where does R3 go? Where does batter go?

Welpe Thu Feb 24, 2011 09:31am

If R3 did not advance home on the play, you enforce the balk and ignore the pitch. The batter is still up with the same count as before.

Rich Ives Thu Feb 24, 2011 09:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbmartin (Post 733845)
So with a runner on third and the pitcher balks immediately before hitting the batter, where does R3 go? Where does batter go?

You need to also highlight "and all other runners advance at least one base"

This didn't happen so you now enforce the balk. R3 scores. Batter reeturns to the plate with the sane count as before the pitch/balk.

rbmartin Thu Feb 24, 2011 11:04am

Thanks.
So the same would be true if the batter got an infield hit but the runner/runners were not able to advance. Move runners 1 base,..send batter (with sore ribs) back to the box?

Also if R3 stays put but R1 advanced on an infield hit, since ALL runners did not advance... then no pitch, runners advance 1, Batter up with same count?

Welpe Thu Feb 24, 2011 11:08am

Correct. Note that there is no "option" either. If the batter and all runners do not safely advance one base, the balk must be enforced.

dash_riprock Thu Feb 24, 2011 11:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbmartin (Post 733869)
Thanks.
So the same would be true if the batter got an infield hit but the runner/runners were not able to advance. Move runners 1 base,..send batter (with sore ribs) back to the box?

Also if R3 stays put but R1 advanced on an infield hit, then no pitch, runners advance 1, Batter up with same count?

Yes and yes. (Why would the batter have sore ribs from an infield hit?)

rbmartin Thu Feb 24, 2011 11:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dash_riprock (Post 733871)
Yes and yes. (Why would the batter have sore ribs from an infield hit?)

Sorry, still thinking of the hit batsman.

Forest Ump Thu Feb 24, 2011 11:14am

He got nailed on the previous pitch.:D

dash_riprock Thu Feb 24, 2011 11:39am

Here's one along the same lines (sort of).

R2, R3. Less than two out. Non-FED.

F1 balks but delivers a pitch. F2 interferes with the batter's swing but he hits one toward the gap. F8 makes a spectacular diving catch at the fence. Both runners tag and score.

A. The ball is dead on the catch. Enforce the balk.
B. The coach can take the result of the play.
C. Enforce the CI. Bases loaded (although if this were correct, then answer B would be as well).

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Feb 24, 2011 05:10pm

And for those who are keeping score at home (you really should get a life), under NFHS Rules the balk makes the ball dead immediately and the balk is penalized.

MTD, Sr.

dash_riprock Thu Feb 24, 2011 06:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 734039)
And for those who are keeping score at home (you really should get a life), under NFHS Rules the balk makes the ball dead immediately and the balk is penalized.

MTD, Sr.

It was a non-FED question.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Feb 24, 2011 06:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dash_riprock (Post 734056)
It was a non-FED question.


I know, but there are quite a few states that use NFHS Rules for their H.S. competition, and the OP is not an uncommon play in H.S. baseball.

MTD, Sr.

ManInBlue Thu Feb 24, 2011 07:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dash_riprock (Post 733886)
Here's one along the same lines (sort of).

R2, R3. Less than two out. Non-FED.

F1 balks but delivers a pitch. F2 interferes with the batter's swing but he hits one toward the gap. F8 makes a spectacular diving catch at the fence. Both runners tag and score.

A. The ball is dead on the catch. Enforce the balk.
B. The coach can take the result of the play.
C. Enforce the CI. Bases loaded (although if this were correct, then answer B would be as well).

There is only one question that ever has to be asked (and it has been expressed in previous posts): Did all base runners AND the BR advance at least one base on the play? Uh, nope - Balk - (A)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1