![]() |
NFHS Not Wiping off
Could someone explain the difference as to when its a balk and when its only a ball on batter, when pitcher goes to mouth and neglects to wipe off. I'm of the understanding that while off rubber, goes to mouth with out wiping off, than steps on rubber, that a ball on batter. How about when pitcher is standing on rubber and goes to mouth, balk. Please state rule number to back up your reply.
Thanks, |
Quote:
6-2-1e ( for off the rubber) 6-2-4d (for on the rubber) |
Unless while off the rubber and prior to stepping on the rubber pitcher calls time and request a new ball. But once he engages the rubber the batter is awarded a ball each time it happens. Also might consider the temp. On colder nights you would want to clarify at your plate meeting what your intentions will be as pitchers tend to warm up their hands by blowing into them... Might seem a bit obvious but you don't need that to be an issue late in the game when it's close.. Just my opinion.
|
You may also want to look at the NFHS casebook, 6-2-1 situations A and B
|
I worked with a guy who saved himself a bunch of headaches during cold weather ball. He would announce just before the first pitch something like, "It's cold. You can go to your mouth any time you want but just wipe it off." Both pitchers and coaches would hear it and comply. I guess they now have this rule emphasis because of guys like him.
|
If you're going to go that route, the plate meeting is a great place to have that discussion.
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17pm. |