The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Make the call - (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/62404-make-call.html)

dash_riprock Sun Feb 13, 2011 09:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ManInBlue (Post 729733)
OK sorry - I didn't clarify this for you in my last reply. RH batter, ball is down the 1BL, F2 is still in foul territory headed that way and BR "swerves" over to where F2 is and runs into him rather than staying on the line, or even on the fair side as most RH batters would leaving the batter's box.

That's just ONE way "his path" could become intent...

B/R is out, return the runners (including an advancing R3).

johnnyg08 Sun Feb 13, 2011 09:28pm

Do you think that rule implies that even if the bunt attempt is a fair ball?

So you'd call R3 out, then bring the batter back for a do over? Or would you call out R3 and place B/R at first base? Or neither of those?

ManInBlue Sun Feb 13, 2011 09:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 729742)
call out R3 and place B/R at first base?

This is the answer he gave me yesterday. I was having a hard time grasping that.

I just found out he discussed it with others and the answers here seem to be right.

"you get both R3 and B/R out" is his latest w/o supporting rule sitations via text message.

UmpTTS43 Sun Feb 13, 2011 09:53pm

Once the ball is batted, the batter now becomes a batter-runner. Batter INT no longer applies. If the BR intentionally interfers with F2 fielding the ball, BR is out, runners return. If you judge that the BR interfered in order to prevent a double play, then the BR is out along with the runner closest to home.

It's really not that difficult.

Rich Ives Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ManInBlue (Post 729731)
No, Rich, I'm not in Yeah-but mode. I was trying to come up with something as intentional that would be visible on the internet. Might have been a bad choice. Picture something that you can as intentional and use that. I didn't intend (sorry) to debate intent. You can debate that all night, and all day tomorrow and...

Do you have an answer to the situation or not? I've been around internet umpring long enough to avoid the yeah but...plus we have enough of that in the caught 3K foul bunt attempt thread.

If it makes you sleep better tonight, my initial response when I was asked this question was that we have nothing, BR has a right to run, F2 has a right to field the ball. So yeah, I know the stinking rule. Then the original question was changed to "ok BR intentionally interfers..." and I have answered it. I am posing the question here because there are some that are helpful. You are usually one of those. I'm not sure what stuck in your craw this time.

My problem is that the person asking, had an answer, much as I do. However, when I answered with the same response that bob has given me (thank you, bob) he said that was wrong. I have yet to be able to find proof to defend his answer. Again, so I post here to see if anyone gives me that answer. I'll enlighten everyone to that response later. For now, I'm curious as to what Rich and a few others have to say about the sitch - other than wth is intent.

Well, it would be interference and the B-R would be out. Other runners return. If judged a willful and deliberate attempt to prevent a DP the B-R and the runner closest to home would be out.

As described in the OP and the follow-up, has anyone ever seen a runner that stupid?

ManInBlue Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 729777)
Well, it would be interference and the B-R would be out. Other runners return. If judged a willful and deliberate attempt to prevent a DP the B-R and the runner closest to home would be out.

As described in the OP and the follow-up, has anyone ever seen a runner that stupid?

THAT'S more like Rich.:D I haven't found that runner yet, but I bet he's out there!:rolleyes:

Thank you, folks. You have reenforced my thoughts on the play. My apologies for getting a little bent.

Durham Mon Feb 14, 2011 01:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ManInBlue (Post 729735)
Look at exception 4 - in my scenario, one of the players is attempting to alter the play. So who's out in #4?

Look at that would ya, it's not such a TWP afterall. They wrote it in a rule book!!

Let's go with your answer for now (still clarifying the whole thing) - if R3 is advancing, you say he's out, put the batter back in the box. Does the pitch count?

No for a "yeah-but" - these are batter's interference, and the batter is actually now a runner. Do the BI rules still apply?

Exception (4) says batter/runner

And Rule 7-11 states

When Batter or Batter-Runner Is Out

So I would say yes.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1