The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Fan interference questions (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/60336-fan-interference-questions.html)

bsaucer Mon Jan 03, 2011 10:22am

Fan interference questions
 
R1, R3, No out. R1 runs toward second on the pitch. R3 holds at third. Batter hits fly ball, which would have been caught, but a fan reaches into the field and interferes. In each case, where would you place the runners?

Case 1: F9 attempts to catch ball near the right field fence.
a) R1 stops halfway between first and second.
b) R1 reaches second.

Case 2: F3 attempts to catch foul ball near a fence close to first base. F4 covers first, F6 covers second.
a) R1 stops between first and second.
b) R1 reaches second.

In case 2, can you assume that an appeal would have been made at first base, and call R1 out? Or must the appeal be made during the next live ball? If R1 is awarded second, should he touch first base first?

mbyron Mon Jan 03, 2011 11:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bsaucer (Post 711650)
R1, R3, No out. R1 runs toward second on the pitch. R3 holds at third. Batter hits fly ball, which would have been caught, but a fan reaches into the field and interferes. In each case, where would you place the runners?

Case 1: F9 attempts to catch ball near the right field fence.
a) R1 stops halfway between first and second.
b) R1 reaches second.

Case 2: F3 attempts to catch foul ball near a fence close to first base. F4 covers first, F6 covers second.
a) R1 stops between first and second.
b) R1 reaches second.

In case 2, can you assume that an appeal would have been made at first base, and call R1 out? Or must the appeal be made during the next live ball? If R1 is awarded second, should he touch first base first?

1a. BR out, R1 back to 1B, R3 scores.
1b. same.

2a. BR out, R1 back to 1B, R3 back to 3B.
2b. same.

You don't mention the code, but OBR and FED agree. The ball is dead, and the umpire shall award bases and call outs so as to nullify the interference.

Regarding Case 2b, no, we're not also calling R1 out for failure to retouch. The ball is dead immediately for the INT, so the offense had no opportunity to rectify the baserunning error, and the defense had no opportunity to appeal it. We reset and pitch to the next batter. Calling a retouch appeal out is not nullifying the act of interference, IMO.

UmpTTS43 Mon Jan 03, 2011 10:56pm

Agree. The only comment I would add is that in Case #1, you must judge that the fly ball was deep enough for R3 to tag and score on. If that is the case, you can award R3 home, otherwise you should keep him at third.

mbyron Tue Jan 04, 2011 07:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpTTS43 (Post 711783)
Agree. The only comment I would add is that in Case #1, you must judge that the fly ball was deep enough for R3 to tag and score on. If that is the case, you can award R3 home, otherwise you should keep him at third.

I certainly agree with your proviso, but I think it's safe to assume. Assuming a fairly normal ballpark, the only place for a fan to interfere with a fair fly ball is out at the wall, which would be deep enough to score R3.

The question I had on reflection concerned case 2: why is R1 taking off on a foul ball that F3 can field?

bob jenkins Tue Jan 04, 2011 08:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 711822)
The question I had on reflection concerned case 2: why is R1 taking off on a foul ball that F3 can field?

The rule allows the umpire to "play God." So, if (as in 2b) the runner has reached second, or fallen down, etc., it wouldn't be out of the question to award the second out.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1