![]() |
Ejection
I had a play last night where there was a ground ball to F6. His throw pulled F3 off the bag toward the plate. The runner and fielder collided. I noticed that the runner raised his arms in front of his face before the collision. Should I have ejected the runner for malicious contact even if I think he may have been protecting himself?
|
No. Don't look to eject someone every time there is contact. There are going to be unavoidable collisions when both players are doing what they are supposed to be doing. Unless the runner lowers a shoulder or drives a forearm into the defensive player, it is probably nothing.
|
Malicious contact implies intent to do harm. Protecting yourself is not intent to harm the other player. No ejection here.
JJ |
Think about the word. Malicious doesn't mean violent. Malicious means WITH MALICE.
|
And,
At the NFHS rules committee meeting it was made very clear. Two things need to be considered when judging malicious contact:
1) Was the player trying to dislodge the ball or, 2) Was the player trying to injure the other player. Seems pretty simple too me. T |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36pm. |