The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Did we blow this ruling? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/58710-did-we-blow-ruling.html)

Jay R Wed Jul 28, 2010 11:20am

Did we blow this ruling?
 
I think we blew it. R1 and it's a hit and run. The ground ball is fielded by F6 who steps on second base too late and R1 is safe at second. F6 then throws to first base throws the ball into the stands. We awarded R1 third base and the BR second base. Should R1 been awarded home since he had obtained 2B before the second play by an infielder?

johnnyg08 Wed Jul 28, 2010 11:33am

2 bases TOT. My understanding would be that you score the run, B/R to 2b.

bob jenkins Wed Jul 28, 2010 11:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jay R (Post 686908)
I think we blew it. R1 and it's a hit and run. The ground ball is fielded by F6 who steps on second base too late and R1 is safe at second. F6 then throws to first base throws the ball into the stands. We awarded R1 third base and the BR second base. Should R1 been awarded home since he had obtained 2B before the second play by an infielder?

Yep. The good news is that you won't blow it again.

Rich Wed Jul 28, 2010 12:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 686910)
2 bases TOT. My understanding would be that you score the run, B/R to 2b.

For the OP: It's 2 bases TOT because this was the second play by an infielder.

johnnyg08 Wed Jul 28, 2010 12:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 686927)
For the OP: It's 2 bases TOT because this was the second play by an infielder.

Yep, hence the TOT, vs TOP.

Proumpire1981 Wed Jul 28, 2010 06:17pm

You did not blow it... You got it right!

The one thing you have to remember between time of throw and time of pitch is this, ask yourself if AT THE TIME OF THE THROW had all runners including the batter runner advanced one base safely. In your case they had not so it is two bases time of the pitch. If at the time of the wild throw at second, had the batter runner advanced to first base it would be time of throw. You guys got it right. 7.05 (G) (approved ruling)

UmpTTS43 Wed Jul 28, 2010 06:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Proumpire1981 (Post 686967)
You did not blow it... You got it right!

The one thing you have to remember between time of throw and time of pitch is this, ask yourself if AT THE TIME OF THE THROW had all runners including the batter runner advanced one base safely. In your case they had not so it is two bases time of the pitch. If at the time of the wild throw at second, had the batter runner advanced to first base it would be time of throw. You guys got it right. 7.05 (G) (approved ruling)

That is true when it is the first play by an infielder. In the OP, it was not the first play by an infielder hence two bases TOT. Read 7.05 (g) in it's entirety.

MrUmpire Wed Jul 28, 2010 06:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Proumpire1981 (Post 686967)
You did not blow it... You got it right!

The one thing you have to remember between time of throw and time of pitch is this, ask yourself if AT THE TIME OF THE THROW had all runners including the batter runner advanced one base safely. In your case they had not so it is two bases time of the pitch. If at the time of the wild throw at second, had the batter runner advanced to first base it would be time of throw. You guys got it right. 7.05 (G) (approved ruling)

"Proumpire", you need to read all of 7.05 (g) (approved ruling), specifically were it says that it applies to the first play of a fielder. The situation here is the second play of a fielder...time of throw.

DG Wed Jul 28, 2010 09:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Proumpire1981 (Post 686967)
You did not blow it... You got it right!

The one thing you have to remember between time of throw and time of pitch is this, ask yourself if AT THE TIME OF THE THROW had all runners including the batter runner advanced one base safely. In your case they had not so it is two bases time of the pitch. If at the time of the wild throw at second, had the batter runner advanced to first base it would be time of throw. You guys got it right. 7.05 (G) (approved ruling)

1st post and you blew it. Will you learn from it or not?

If you learn from it, welcome to the site. If you don't learn from it, then expect a lot of grief here.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1