The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   7.14 Appeal Question (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/58570-7-14-appeal-question.html)

njhokie Wed Jul 07, 2010 04:05pm

7.14 Appeal Question
 
If a manager makes a mistake with the replacement runner and uses the last batted out, does the other manager have to appeal before the next pitch? If the base runner steals and he then realizes it is the wrong runner, can he appeal?

I could only find Batting out of order appeals and nothing on special runners.


Thanks

Steven Tyler Wed Jul 07, 2010 04:19pm

You must be talking about some modified MSBL/NABA rule. I would advise getting in touch with the league president or such and get their interpretation of the ruling. Different age groups will allow two or three designated non-runners when the lineup is submitted at the plate meeting.

Some use the last batted out. Some use the last person to make an out.

I would say an illegal substitution would be an out in this case (since they haven't scored) from my playing experience in men's adult ball.

That's all I have for you.

yawetag Wed Jul 07, 2010 04:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by njhokie (Post 684800)
If a manager makes a mistake with the replacement runner and uses the last batted out, does the other manager have to appeal before the next pitch? If the base runner steals and he then realizes it is the wrong runner, can he appeal?

I could only find Batting out of order appeals and nothing on special runners.


Thanks

1. By "special runners," are you talking about pinch runners?
2. What kind of "mistake" are you referring to?

Your questions don't make sense to me.

njhokie Wed Jul 07, 2010 04:54pm

Clarification of my question
 
According to 7.14, the special pinch-runner must not be in the batting order. Also, according to Little League rules there are no courtesy runners.

In this case, the mistake was invoking 7.14 and sending in the last batted out instead of a player on the bench.

The other coach did not immediately catch the improper substitution.

After the pinch-runner stole second, the opposing coach noticed that the runner was also in the game and asked the umpire for a ruling.

The umpire called the runner out and ended the inning.

My question is whether the other coach can ask for a ruling after a pitch has been thrown.

In the case of "batting out of order" the appeal has to happen before the next correct batter has a pitch thrown to them. I was wondering if the 7.14 runner should be treated in the same manner.


Thanks

UmpJM Wed Jul 07, 2010 04:58pm

Guys,

njhokie is talking about the "Official LL" Special Pinch Runner rule.

I don't "do" LL, so I don't know the answer to his question.

I'm sure some of the "LL knowledgable" guys could answer it.

JM

Rich Ives Wed Jul 07, 2010 07:52pm

It isn't addressed in the SPR rule 7.14.

I guess it should be treated as an illegal sub.

If it's an illegal sub, he is removed and replaced with a legal sub. End of story.

If it's in the tournameent protest all the way to WP and see what the official answer might be.

yawetag Wed Jul 07, 2010 10:41pm

Do umpires keep line-ups in LL? My assumption is that they don't, but an issue like this could be prevented with a line-up card.

MD Longhorn Wed Jul 07, 2010 11:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by yawetag (Post 684839)
Do umpires keep line-ups in LL? My assumption is that they don't, but an issue like this could be prevented with a line-up card.

My assumption is that they do, should have been caught then. If not then, then when PU announces the change to the scorekeeper.

Rich Ives Thu Jul 08, 2010 08:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by yawetag (Post 684839)
Do umpires keep line-ups in LL? My assumption is that they don't, but an issue like this could be prevented with a line-up card.

Some do, some don't.

The other problem is that when batting the roster (CBO) 7.14 is not in effect. Using CBO is mandatory in minors and optional in majors so it's possible no one really has any experience using the rule.

In the tournament there is an official scorekeeper and the umpires usually derer to them. If you watch the TV games you'll see the manager reporting it at the scorekeepers table with the PU standing there "supervising".

Yes - it should have been caught.

The penalty was, I believe, incorrect.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1