![]() |
Eding the game
Bases loaded, two out, bottom of the last inning, tie game. Any rule set.
Batter draws a walk and touches first. Runner at third touches home. Runner from first to second never touches second and runs to join the celebration. Can he be called out for abandoning his base and it be a force out? If so then the run does not score. If there is one out, then the run scores correct? Rule 6.08 (OBR) talks about the batter-runner touching first BEFORE the runner there is FORCED to advance. That tells me that the runner is eligible to be forced out if he abandons his base without advancing. Am I in the ballpark here? |
I think as long as 1B is touched, it forces all the runners, whether 2B or 3B or touched. So BR touches 1B and R3 touches HP, game over.
|
Quote:
In FED ALL the runners need to advance. Don't even THINK of calling an out on abandonment - make the defense make a play or an appeal. It would be a force if they do it, but don't even THINK of calling it on abandonment on your own. Erase the "abandon" rule from your mental databank. Assume it doesn't exist. It shouldn't exist because WAY too many people try to invent a reason the use it - almost always improperly. |
Rich,
I found the reference in OBR - 4.09(b) Could you give me a reference for FED or an interp.? Thanks |
Illini Ref,
Fed 9-1-1, Note 2. JM |
Thanks. My head hurt looking for that. Don't know how I missed it!
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02pm. |