![]() |
Batter Interference/Balk
#1. 2 outs R1 on 2B. Pitched ball in dirt, batter in back of box, ball is behind catcher and in front of me, catcher picks up ball steps forward over plate then
starts to throw to 3b, batter at same time steps up to front of box and catchers throwing arm hits batter and does not throw. I call runner out, 3rd out. Off mgr. says batter never left box so i am wrong. #2. Runner on 1b. Pitcher is set, steps off rubber then fakes throw to 1b, I called balk saying that pitcher can't fake throw to 1b. I feel i got #1 correct, but after i got home I think I blew the balk #2. Any help? (Pony Baseball 13/14) |
Quote:
In #1, the batter is out for interference. Put R2 back on second base (if there is less than 2 outs). A batter can most certainly be called for interference if he moves in the box in such a way as to interfere with the catcher's play. In #2, if the pitcher legally disengaged, then he can fake to first base. |
So by calling the runner out instead of the batter, which was the third out, this made the batter lead off next inning and I now screwed that up. I will not make that mistake again. So much to know. Thanks
|
Quote:
It's complicated, yes. There's no substitute for just knowing the rules. |
Quote:
Calling a game last night and runner removes his helmet thinking there are three out. He then scores with helmet in hand. Of course, coaches want ... R3 is out, he took his helmet off. Officiating can be fun, but its a lot more fun when you have studied the rules. Good luck Thanks David |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04am. |