![]() |
Override call
I saw an NCAA game in which a runner on first tried to steal second. The catcher threw to second. It was a close play. The base umpire signalled "safe!". Immediately, the HP umpire pointed to second base and shouted "HE'S OUT!!!".
Can the HP umpire override a judgement call made by a base umpire? There was no further discussion. He was out. (He looked out to me.) |
Quote:
Perhaps the batter struck out then interferred with the throw to 2B. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
-Josh |
I am with you Rich. Surely he didn't just overrule his partner. Big time NO NO.
|
There was no interference call. I saw the play, and would agree with everyone else in the stands that the runner was tagged out at second. It is my guess that the base umpire's view was blocked and he failed to see the tag, while the HP ump had a better view.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
In fact, if this wasn't interference and PU did what you describe here, you have a protestable situation, as there is a RULE that says PU cannot do this. |
Quote:
What game was it? |
I'm with walt. I want video to watch.
|
Assess the probabilities:
1. NCAA tourney ump goes against decades of training and overrules his partner on a call 122 feet away. 2. The OP missed something. |
Quote:
Thanks David |
Quote:
I agree w/ the other guys here...no way does PU do as the post states. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28pm. |