The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Scoring Question. (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/5839-scoring-question.html)

stowelaw Sun Sep 22, 2002 08:29pm

Runner on first. On the next pitch to the batter, the runner attempts to steal second base. The batter lines out to the pitcher who doubles the runner off of first. Is this scored as a double play against the batter or is it an out to the batter and a pickoff against the runner?

dave Sun Sep 22, 2002 08:48pm

If the runner leaves 1st in an attempt to advance to 2nd(in your example) before the baseball is released from the pitcher this is an attempted steal. If he is put out due to his attempted steal he should be scored caught stealing.

Caselli Sun Sep 22, 2002 09:30pm

caught stealing ? No. (nm)
 
.

Tim C Sun Sep 22, 2002 10:46pm

Again,
 
Even when dealing with a "non-umpire" rule we get people who just don't get it.

As Caselli says, it is certainly NOT a caught stealing.

Oh My!

bluezebra Mon Sep 23, 2002 12:24am

It's a double play.

OBR DOUBLE PLAYS-TRIPLE PLAYS
10.12
Credit participation in the double play or triple play to each fielder who earns a putout or an assist when two or three players are put out between the time a pitch is delivered and the time the ball next becomes dead or is next in possession of the pitcher in pitching position, unless an error or misplay intervenes between putouts. NOTE: Credit the double play or triple play also if an appeal play after the ball is in possession of the pitcher results in an additional putout.

Bob


Tim C Mon Sep 23, 2002 08:48am

Hehehehe,
 
BUT BOB,

Finding this answer would require both "stowelaw" and "Dave" to read a rule book.

Shame on you. You made it easy for the lazy ones.

Hope you're doing well.

stowelaw Mon Sep 23, 2002 12:29pm

Tee, I read Chapter 10 (scoring rules) from the 2001 Official Rules of Major League Baseball (Triumph Books). I could not find anything to answer my scoring question. If you can cite the specific rules and/or language, I'll be glad to pay you a reasonable sum for your time. I thought the purpose of this board was to discuss obscure or uncertain rules issues. Actually, I sense that you don't know the answer either. My post was actually a last resort, not a matter of failing to look up an answer myself. But thanks anyway.

Tim C Mon Sep 23, 2002 01:38pm

So stowe,
 
Wasn't Bob's cite enough for you? He did the research and gave you the road map.

Rule Ten is not an umpire rule yet I know it as well as most.

It is not a game rule that you are asking. If you thought this was a board for obscure and uncertainties in RULES you are correct. Your request has NOTHING to do with an umpire rule.

Lah Me.



[Edited by Tim C on Sep 23rd, 2002 at 01:48 PM]


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1