The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   OBR Interference? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/58351-obr-interference.html)

johnnyg08 Wed Jun 09, 2010 11:28pm

OBR Interference?
 
R1, 1 out.

Ground ball to F6 who flips the ball to F4 for a force out at 2B, R1 is a little over 1/2 way to 2B when the thrown ball to F3 strikes R1 in the helmet.

What's your call? OBR, NCAA, FED

kopan99 Wed Jun 09, 2010 11:30pm

Play on

UmpJM Wed Jun 09, 2010 11:34pm

johnny,

E4 (throw).

JM

Matt Thu Jun 10, 2010 01:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 681169)
R1, 1 out.

Ground ball to F6 who flips the ball to F4 for a force out at 2B, R1 is a little over 1/2 way to 2B when the thrown ball to F3 strikes R1 in the helmet.

What's your call? OBR, NCAA, FED

Jack ****. Unless he did something intentional, such as if the helmet was in his hand flagging down the ball.

ozzy6900 Thu Jun 10, 2010 06:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 681169)
R1, 1 out.

Ground ball to F6 who flips the ball to F4 for a force out at 2B, R1 is a little over 1/2 way to 2B when the thrown ball to F3 strikes R1 in the helmet.

What's your call? OBR, NCAA, FED

Why do you think there needs to be a call?

jicecone Thu Jun 10, 2010 07:19am

I agree with the play for this scenario however, I am also aware of written material I have at home discussing interference on the runner. I think it is at the Fed level and possibly for a runner closer to the bag.

Possibly Amber knows more of the details??????????

MD Longhorn Thu Jun 10, 2010 08:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 681169)
R1, 1 out.

Ground ball to F6 who flips the ball to F4 for a force out at 2B, R1 is a little over 1/2 way to 2B when the thrown ball to F3 strikes R1 in the helmet.

What's your call? OBR, NCAA, FED

I have no call in any rule set (including any softball rule set.) Why would anyone think differently ... you can't get outs by beaning the runner.

MD Longhorn Thu Jun 10, 2010 08:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) (Post 681171)
johnny,

E4 (throw).

JM

I know you were being funny, but this is not true unless BR makes it to 2nd. No error can be charge on an attempted/failed DP if 1 out is made, unless someone gets an extra base.

johnnyg08 Thu Jun 10, 2010 08:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ozzy6900 (Post 681187)
Why do you think there needs to be a call?

That was my point.

SanDiegoSteve Thu Jun 10, 2010 08:52am

Come On Down!!!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 681218)
That was my point.

Oh, it's a game show!!!

MD Longhorn Thu Jun 10, 2010 08:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 681218)
That was my point.

Why the post then?

johnnyg08 Thu Jun 10, 2010 10:03am

I get questions about plays on occasion and many times people will debate my opinion on x,y,z play and I will check to see if others agree or not. Instead of talking about it locally I will bring them on here to get other thoughts.

MD Longhorn Thu Jun 10, 2010 10:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 681232)
I get questions about plays on occasion and many times people will debate my opinion on x,y,z play and I will check to see if others agree or not. Instead of talking about it locally I will bring them on here to get other thoughts.

A reasonable and smart idea if the questions are truly debatable. This one? If any of this "group" was an umpire, send them to remedial school or stop assigning them. Ugh.

jicecone Thu Jun 10, 2010 07:38pm

OK, I knew I had read this somewhere. This is Fed only.

The Usual suspects by Carl Childress, 2004 on pg 10 Play 11. " Ball smashed to F6 who flips to second. The throw to first nails R1 in the helmet. R1 is perhaps thirty feet from second base."

Answer on page 12, "Double play." It was based upon a Rumble ruling in the Fed News #1, March 1998. Rumble restructured the Force Play Slide Rule

BRD 2009, Section 328, "Interference By: Runner: Slide: Froce Play. Page 214.

Official Inter 242-328: Hopkins: On a force play a runner hit by a thrown ball between bases is NOT guilty of interference if he did not slide or [presumably] run well away from the fielder making the throw if he is in the baseline but "not even halfway to second: The runner cannot be expected to slide at that point in the base path."

Conversly, well you make the call!!!!!!!!!!

bob jenkins Thu Jun 10, 2010 08:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jicecone (Post 681403)
It was based upon a Rumble ruling in the Fed News #1, March 1998.

There's a later interp where this is wrong.

Left open by the interp is what happens if R1 is "close" to the base and hit by the throw while not sliding.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1