The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Infield fly question (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/58197-infield-fly-question.html)

mista Tue May 25, 2010 02:36am

Infield fly question
 
I recently played in a softball game where there was a disputed infield fly call. I know this is a baseball forum, I'm assuming the rules are the same.

There are no outs, runners on 1st and 2nd. The batter hits a pop up, and the umpire calls out "infield fly, batters out". The pitcher, 3rd baseman, and shortstop have a communication break down and nobody catches the ball. Because the ball had so much spin, it bounced from fair territory into foul territory with nobody touching it. The ball also was not past 3rd base, so it went foul in front of the bag.

1. Is the batter still out due to the infield fly rule?

2. When the ball goes into foul territory is it a dead ball situation?

3. If there was no infield fly rule called by the umpires, then would it be a foul ball in this situation?

yawetag Tue May 25, 2010 03:22am

As long as no one touched the ball while in fair territory, this is not an IFF situation. IFF is only for fair batted balls. The ball was eventually foul, so IFF does not apply.

Just like in any uncaught foul ball, the ball becomes dead.

mbyron Tue May 25, 2010 06:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mista (Post 678399)

1. Is the batter still out due to the infield fly rule?

2. When the ball goes into foul territory is it a dead ball situation?

3. If there was no infield fly rule called by the umpires, then would it be a foul ball in this situation?

1. No. IFF exists to protect the offense from an undeserved double play. A DP is not possible on an uncaught foul ball, so the protection lapses.

2. Yes. Ordinary foul ball, batter returns to the plate.

3. Whether it's called is irrelevant: the IFF rule applies whether the umpires say anything, and it fails to apply even if the umpires mistakenly call it (although mistakenly calling it can cause other problems).

dash_riprock Tue May 25, 2010 07:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mista (Post 678399)

2. When the ball goes into foul territory is it a dead ball situation?

Not yet. It becomes a foul (dead) ball when it comes to rest.

MD Longhorn Tue May 25, 2010 08:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dash_riprock (Post 678412)
Not yet. It becomes a foul (dead) ball when it comes to rest.

Or is touched or contacts something (like the fence) while foul.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1