![]() |
Player lodged in fence
NFHS. Runner at 2nd, 1 out. Foul fly near left field out of play fence. Left fielder makes a diving catch, but his throwing arm gets stuck in the fence. Runner tags and scores from 2nd, because fielder can't throw the ball back in.
Got anything? If so, rule/case references? (Yes, it really happened today). |
He should have chewed his arm off. Run scores.
-Josh |
The center fielder should have thrown his hands in the air indicating that the player was lodged in the fence. That way, the BU can run out and check to make sure his arm was really stuck.
:D |
I think you have to use 10-2-3.
I'd treat it as catch-and-carry. |
+1
Thread title of the season. |
FED 10-2-3 or OBR 9.01c.
I'd loved to had seen video of that one! |
Quote:
-Josh |
Quote:
|
Quote:
The point is that I don't think I would treat this as a catch and carry and award bases upon the player getting stuck in the fence. As long as the ball is in play and the fielder is still in play (with at least one foot in HS), I'm letting it play out. -Josh |
Quote:
|
Quote:
The worse part about it was the kid decided to take a cheap shot at me. He said "It wouldn't have happened if I didn't have to swing at it b/c of the pitch before it." Which he thought was low but no one else agreed with him, especially not me. The one he swung at would have hit the ground at F2's feet. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
I actually had this happen in one of my games.
Wild pitch, F2 runs back toward the backstop and does a slide to retreive the ball. He slid into the backstop and his foot went under the chainlink fence. He was caught fast by his foot and his shin guard, literally lodged in the fence. I left the ball live as a runner from second base crossed the plate. No complaints from the defensive coach. After the game, a spectator stops me on the way to the parking lot. He informs me that "he's an umpire" and that I blew it by not killing the ball on that play. I asked him, "By what rule would the ball become dead?". "The ball was lodged", he says. I told him the ball wasn't lodged, the player was. "But you should have called time for safety reasons", he says. I said that, from my viewpoint, the player wasn't injured, or in any immediate danger of becoming injured. The guy then drops the name of our local assigner, saying, "I wonder what Mister XXXX would think of that?". So I said, "I don't know, why don't you ask him. He knows who I am and if he has a problem with what I did he can contact me personally". Funny, but I never did hear anything more about it... |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:38am. |