![]() |
Another Balk Question
Situation #1
Runner on second. Pitcher in stretch comes set. Runner breaks for third. WITHOUT stepping off pitchers plate, pitcher throws to third. Is this a balk for throwing to an unoccupied base, or not a balk because he is making a play on a runner? Last week, JV and Freshmen games on side by side fields, one set of umps called balk one set did not. Yes the same play happened in both games within minutes of each other! Situation #2 Runner on third. Third baseman playing bunt defense ( 20 feet down line ) runner leads off to where third baseman is playing. Again without breaking contact, pitcher throws directly to third baseman. Is this a balk? |
Assuming all other parts off the pickoff attempt were legal...
#1: Not a balk. He was making a play on a runner. FED rule 6-2-4b. #2: Not a balk as long as he stepped toward third base when doing so. Also 6-2-4b. |
Quote:
This point might explain your different rulings on what might seem to be the same play. |
I had this in a varsity game the other night and coach was insistant that this was a balk. I explained it to him and walked away. I saw them looking in the book during the next inning. I guess they must have found it because I never heard another word about it.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48am. |