The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Here's Another One (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/57931-heres-another-one.html)

JJ Wed Apr 21, 2010 11:58am

Here's Another One
 
R2, R3, nobody out. Batter hits a ground ball to the SS, who throws wildly to first base. Ball goes NEAR an area that is DBT, and the umpire, thinking it DID go into DBT, kills the play. Then he realizes the ball in fact did not go into DBT - he huddles with his crew and they decide to place runners.
Where would YOU put them? Would you let the call stand, even though it was obviously incorrect?

JJ

UMP25 Wed Apr 21, 2010 12:14pm

John,

I'd probably use a little common sense and fair play and place the runners to where I thought they would have advanced had the ball not been killed.

mbyron Wed Apr 21, 2010 12:24pm

You can't determine where to put the runners by using the award for throwing the ball into DBT, since the defense did not do that. I'm not penalizing the defense for what they didn't do.

Although the runners cannot advance on a dead ball, they can be awarded bases during a dead ball. Had the play not been killed, they would have advanced on the overthrow.

So I agree with Randy: specifically, I'd give BR 2B and score the other two (R3 on the throw, R2 on the overthrow).


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1