The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Rule question (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/57920-rule-question.html)

tmuckel Tue Apr 20, 2010 07:12am

Rule question
 
Runner on third, batter bunts, batter makes first on play at home, runner from third slides into home, catcher drops ball , batter sees ball dropped and runs from first to second, during him running , runner that slid into home picks ball up and hands it to catcher. What call should I have made?

Rich Ives Tue Apr 20, 2010 09:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tmuckel (Post 674369)
Runner on third, batter bunts, batter makes first on play at home, runner from third slides into home, catcher drops ball , batter sees ball dropped and runs from first to second, during him running , runner that slid into home picks ball up and hands it to catcher. What call should I have made?

Theer's a rule aginst interfering but not against assisting.

Tell him to let a live ball alone in the future. His coach should take care of the stronger admonishions.

Paul L Tue Apr 20, 2010 11:49am

If you judged that the catcher might have made a play and might have thrown out BR at second, and that R3 impeded, rather than assisted, that play, then BR out. OBR 7.09(e). All doubt resolved in favor of the defense.

jicecone Tue Apr 20, 2010 11:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tmuckel (Post 674369)
Runner on third, batter bunts, batter makes first on play at home, runner from third slides into home, catcher drops ball , batter sees ball dropped and runs from first to second, during him running , runner that slid into home picks ball up and hands it to catcher. What call should I have made?

Any chance of throwing the runner out? Go for it.

Otherwise call time and determine if there was interference and award accordingly. It souds like LL or something similar so I would judge accordingly and move on.

I once had a real drag out terrible game, third of the day, on a long HOT day.
Score was like 600,000 to 2. 13 yr olds. 1 out losing team last at bat. R3.
Batter hits ball to F6 R3 comes home. F6 throws ball home and catcher tags runner out and turns around and tosses ball to me. I toss it right back and say Batter-runner is going to second. He throws him out too and we all live happlily ever after. Know one paid attention to what happened. True story.

mbyron Tue Apr 20, 2010 01:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tmuckel (Post 674369)
Runner on third, batter bunts, batter makes first on play at home, runner from third slides into home, catcher drops ball , batter sees ball dropped and runs from first to second, during him running , runner that slid into home picks ball up and hands it to catcher. What call should I have made?

Sounds like little boy ball. If that's right, kill it, send the runner back to 1B. Defense doesn't get an out, offense doesn't get a base.

HS and up, call what happens: if you judge the scored runner's action to constitute a hindrance to the defense, it's INT. Otherwise, play on. No rule prohibits assisting the opponent.

mbyron Tue Apr 20, 2010 01:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 674379)
His coach should take care of the stronger admonishions.

Excellent word choice; now maybe learn to spell it?
:D

bluehair Tue Apr 20, 2010 01:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jicecone (Post 674396)
tosses ball to me. I toss it right back and say Batter-runner is going to second. He throws him out too and we all live happlily ever after. Know one paid attention to what happened.

Good thing...sheesh. I would have taken that story with me to my grave.

RadioBlue Tue Apr 20, 2010 01:50pm

I think we got an out
 
Rule 8-4-2g states:

If a retired runner interferes, an in the judgment of the umpire, another runner could have been put out, the umpire shall declare that runner out. If the umpire is uncertain who would have been played on, the runner closest to home shall be called out;

By definition, a runner who has scored is a retired runner. By picking up a thrown ball, that is an intentional act. The batter-runner is out on the retired-runner interference.

Rich Ives Tue Apr 20, 2010 03:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 674408)
Excellent word choice; now maybe learn to spell it?
:D

That's easy - it.

It's the other one I didn't get right. :D

ManInBlue Tue Apr 20, 2010 07:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RadioBlue (Post 674417)
Rule 8-4-2g states:

If a retired runner interferes, an in the judgment of the umpire, another runner could have been put out, the umpire shall declare that runner out. If the umpire is uncertain who would have been played on, the runner closest to home shall be called out;

By definition, a runner who has scored is a retired runner. By picking up a thrown ball, that is an intentional act. The batter-runner is out on the retired-runner interference.


What if F2 got the ball quicker by (runner) picking it up and handing it to him? He has not hindered the play, he's assisted it.

On a side note, how would you score that? F5-F2-R3-F4 out??? Would the assist go in his fielding record?

mbyron Tue Apr 20, 2010 07:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 674431)
That's easy - it.

It's the other one I didn't get right. :D

I didn't suggest that you learn spell 'it', I said "learn to spell it." See? :p

Rich Ives Tue Apr 20, 2010 09:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 674457)
I didn't suggest that you learn spell 'it', I said "learn to spell it." See? :p

Or an old mind teaser question:

"Railroad crossing, look out for the cars." Can you spell that without any r's" :D

UmpJM Tue Apr 20, 2010 09:17pm

Rich,

t-h-a-t :rolleyes:

JM

Rich Ives Tue Apr 20, 2010 09:22pm

This is going down hill in a hurry.

RadioBlue Wed Apr 21, 2010 08:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ManInBlue (Post 674454)
What if F2 got the ball quicker by (runner) picking it up and handing it to him? He has not hindered the play, he's assisted it.

On a side note, how would you score that? F5-F2-R3-F4 out??? Would the assist go in his fielding record?

Yeah ... but he's intentionally assisted. :D I think I've still got an out with a runner moving on the play.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1