The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Teach Bob Something #4 (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/57741-teach-bob-something-4-a.html)

bob jenkins Tue Mar 30, 2010 10:50am

Teach Bob Something #4
 
NCAA Rules Only:

R1, R2, 2 outs. F1 balks but pitches. Batter hits one to the gap and ends up on second, but misses first. Both R1 and R2 cross the plate. Defense successfully appeals BR missing first.

Ruling:?

(FED -- the balk is an immediate dead ball, so ignore the pitch. R1, R2 become R2, R3).

(OBR -- since everyone advanced a base, ignore the balk. The appeal out stands. Since BR made the thrid out before first, no runs score.)

UmpJM Tue Mar 30, 2010 11:21am

Bob,

I would treat NCAA the same as OBR - disregard the balk, sustain the appeal, nullify the runs.

Ref.: 8-3-o3, AR3

JM

BaBa Booey Tue Mar 30, 2010 12:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) (Post 671598)
Bob,

I would treat NCAA the same as OBR - disregard the balk, sustain the appeal, nullify the runs.

Ref.: 8-3-o3, AR3

JM

I'm not familiar with NCAA rules, but I don't see how they could have a different interpretation from OBR (as long as the ball is still live after a balk, which I believe it is). I believe JM has it right.

cviverito Tue Mar 30, 2010 12:11pm

JM does have it right for NCAA. No run can be scored if the third out is made on the BR before he reaches first base.

UmpJM Tue Mar 30, 2010 12:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by cviverito (Post 671629)
JM does have it right for NCAA. No run can be scored if the third out is made on the BR before he touches first base.

Chris,

Fixed it for ya'. ;)

JM

MrUmpire Tue Mar 30, 2010 01:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by cviverito
JM does have it right for NCAA. No run can be scored if the third out is made on the BR before he safely touches first base.

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) (Post 671635)
Chris,

Fixed it for ya'. ;)

JM


Fixed it for ya";)

cviverito Tue Mar 30, 2010 01:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) (Post 671635)
Chris,

Fixed it for ya'. ;)

JM


Thanks JM:o

UmpJM Tue Mar 30, 2010 02:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrUmpire (Post 671643)
Fixed it for ya";)

Au contraire, mon frere.

You made it redundant.

JM

MrUmpire Tue Mar 30, 2010 03:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) (Post 671657)
Au contraire, mon frère.

You made it redundant.

JM

D'oh! You are absolutley correct. I focused on B and neglected to remember A accurately.

That said...fixed it for ya';)

UmpJM Tue Mar 30, 2010 03:30pm

MrUmpire,

I stand corrected! ;)

JM

ozzy6900 Tue Mar 30, 2010 03:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 671591)
NCAA Rules Only:

R1, R2, 2 outs. F1 balks but pitches. Batter hits one to the gap and ends up on second, but misses first. Both R1 and R2 cross the plate. Defense successfully appeals BR missing first.

Ruling:?

(FED -- the balk is an immediate dead ball, so ignore the pitch. R1, R2 become R2, R3).

(OBR -- since everyone advanced a base, ignore the balk. The appeal out stands. Since BR made the thrid out before first, no runs score.)

Wait a minute! I thought in OBR in order to ignore the balk, all runners must advance 1 base and the BR must attain 1st base. If the BR didn't attain 1st base, he returns to the plate and the runners are advanced TOP. NCAA should be the same.

UmpJM Tue Mar 30, 2010 03:38pm

ozzy,

You might want to check Rule 8.05, Penalty, AR 2.

JM

PeteBooth Tue Mar 30, 2010 03:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ozzy6900 (Post 671670)
Quote:

Wait a minute! I thought in OBR in order to ignore the balk, all runners must advance 1 base and the BR must attain 1st base. If the BR didn't attain 1st base, he returns to the plate and the runners are advanced TOP. NCAA should be the same
.


Ozzy as you are well aware, you do not need to TOUCH the base in order to have attained it.

From the OP
Quote:

Batter hits one to the gap and ends up on second, but misses first. Both R1 and R2 cross the plate.
The balk call is disregarded because all runners advanced at least one base. Even though the BR missed first base he is deemed to have touched it until appealed.

Here is another way to look at it. Suppose the defense didn't appeal. Would you still enforce the balk call?

NO as the BR is on second base and the other runners advanced one base. Therefore, if you would not enforce the balk call if the defense DOES NOT appeal then on the same token you cannot enforce the balk because they appealed. In a nutshell the BR advanced one base even though he didn't touch the base.

Pete Booth

ozzy6900 Tue Mar 30, 2010 06:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PeteBooth (Post 671675)
Ozzy as you are well aware, you do not need to TOUCH the base in order to have attained it.

From the OP

The balk call is disregarded because all runners advanced at least one base. Even though the BR missed first base he is deemed to have touched it until appealed.

Here is another way to look at it. Suppose the defense didn't appeal. Would you still enforce the balk call?

NO as the BR is on second base and the other runners advanced one base. Therefore, if you would not enforce the balk call if the defense DOES NOT appeal then on the same token you cannot enforce the balk because they appealed. In a nutshell the BR advanced one base even though he didn't touch the base.

Pete Booth

Your right, Pete. I got hung up on the wording.

cviverito Tue Mar 30, 2010 06:58pm

Wouldn't you know it? We talk about this in the forum and in my game tonight...it didn't happen. HA! :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1