![]() |
Homerun or not?
Just thinking....We all remember the Jose Canseco HR that banged off his head and went over the wall for a homerun. Here is a situation that I was curious about.....Same situation but its going down the 3rd base line. The ball hits the left fielder in the head while standing in fair territory but the ball travels over the fence in foul territory. Is it a homerun or not?
|
That situation results in a two-base award, commonly referred to as a "ground-rule double."
|
Remember, it's not where he's standing, it's where the ball is when contacted. His feet could be in, but his head could be over foul territory. (man, it hurts me just the THINK of this play).
Kyle |
Not!
OBR 6.09(h) - Any fair fly ball is deflected by the fielder into the stands, or over the fence into foul territory, in which case the batter shall be entitled to advance to second base |
Jake,
What are you objecting to? |
Quote:
|
Kyle
Bob is correct. I was responding to the original post. When it is possible to reply using a rule citation that's what I usually do because it eliminates the next logical question -"Where can I find it in the rule book?". No offense or disagreement was intended. |
Quote:
|
Thanks Bob. I am new to this board and still trying to wade through all the features. In the future I will take your advice and use the quotes feature.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21pm. |