![]() |
Batting out of turn appeal
Bases loaded, two outs. Charlie bats instead of Barkley, hits a single but gets thrown out at second for the third out but two runs score.
Teams switch. Pitcher is done with warming up when former defensive manager comes out to appeal the batting out of order. Is the appeal valid or not? I say it is but have a good friend who says that the appeal cannot be accepted after the defense leaves the field. Rita |
Your friend is right.
Look at 7-1-2 penalty 3. |
Quote:
Thank you anyway. Rita:o |
Quote:
|
Rita,
Under FED rules, zm is correct. Under OBR rules, a BOOT appeal must be made before the next "pitch or play" for either team. So, if the team's switch, the pitcher warms up, the catcher throws down, the batter steps in, and THEN they appeal the BOOT - they are allowed to. JM |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Rule 7.10 says: Any appeal under this rule must be made before the next pitch, or any play or attempted play. If the violation occurs during a play which ends a half-inning, the appeal must be made before the defensive team leaves the field. He says that part of 7.10 applies to any appeal. I say not, especially since it says, "Any appeal under this rule". And, Rule 6.07 says nothing about the defense leaving the field. Rita |
Quote:
MLBUM 3.2 states that the appeal must occur before the first pitch to the next batter of either team, or play or attempted play. If 7.10 held, then the first part of that sentence would be moot. |
6.07 b says specifically to the batting out of order situation that the appeal must be made before the first pitch to the next batter OF EITHER TEAM. Seems to me that's a pretty specific ruling on this particular type of appeal.
You got this one right on, Rita! JJ |
Hey Rita - your friend wouldn't happen to have the initials AM would he ;-)
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41am. |