The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Quick question - (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/56735-quick-question.html)

ManInBlue Tue Jan 26, 2010 08:24pm

Quick question -
 
Well, I've taken a long "vacation" and haven't been here in a while. It's that time again, so I better get my mind back on the game.

During the 2008 season I had a sitch and explained it to the coach. Explained it again the following day. The first game I had with him in 2009, yep, explained it again. Last night at the District meeting, I noticed him going through the motions, so I asked...yep, asking someone else. So...

Fed Rules - R2, F1 comes set, R2 stealing after first look. F1 steps and throws to 3B. Out, no question. He's throwing to make a play. He doesn't have to step off, he's made no move toward home (looks like a mirror image of a lefty's pick off at 1B). While discussing this last night, "the other ump" said it's different when you have R1. I disagree. Question: R1 stealing on first look...can F1 do an inside move to 2B to retire the runner? Also can F1 turn toward 1B, continue around to 2B to retire the runner (given of course that there is no hesitation toward 1B during the motion)? "The other ump" told me that with R1, F1 has to step off the rubber before he can make this throw to 2B. Right, wrong, explain - or is this move with R1 a balk?

dash_riprock Tue Jan 26, 2010 09:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ManInBlue (Post 655727)
"The other ump" told me that with R1, F1 has to step off the rubber before he can make this throw to 2B. Right, wrong, explain - or is this move with R1 a balk?

Wrong. F1 has not violated any rule by stepping and throwing to 2nd to retire a stealing R1.

ManInBlue Tue Jan 26, 2010 09:31pm

To be clear - F1 can make either move mentioned to make this throw and he does not have to step off the rubber.

mbyron Wed Jan 27, 2010 07:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ManInBlue (Post 655727)
Also can F1 turn toward 1B, continue around to 2B to retire the runner (given of course that there is no hesitation toward 1B during the motion)?

With your parenthetical remark, the answer is yes. But I will add that I have seen few HS pitchers that can pull it off without some hitch as they look at 1B.

SanDiegoSteve Wed Jan 27, 2010 01:39pm

The "other ump" is wrong. There.:)

ManInBlue Wed Jan 27, 2010 01:44pm

That's what I thought. My concern was more for the inside move. You are correct, most HS pitchers wouldn't make complete spin otherwise. Would help me with a rules reference please (just to save time when I look it up)?

Thanks for confirming my thoughts.

Kevin Finnerty Wed Jan 27, 2010 01:59pm

Here's a really good reference: Balk Video ABUA Online Store

dash_riprock Wed Jan 27, 2010 04:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ManInBlue (Post 655982)
That's what I thought. My concern was more for the inside move. You are correct, most HS pitchers wouldn't make complete spin otherwise. Would help me with a rules reference please (just to save time when I look it up)?

Thanks for confirming my thoughts.

There is no rule reference for a non-violation.

See 6.2 for infractions by the pitcher.

ManInBlue Wed Jan 27, 2010 07:41pm

Steve, you've always been so enlightening :confused: Glad to hear from you.

Thanks guys. I appreciate the re-enforcement

Case play 6.2.4 Situation A

DG Wed Jan 27, 2010 09:14pm

A good inside spin to 2B is how many runners are picked off 2B, when there is a runner there. So same move would be used to throw out advancing R1. Think of it as a jump turn, but to 2b.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1