![]() |
6.03 OBR batters' box
What is the FED rule for this OBR rule? Thx
|
How about the first sentence of 7-1-1?
"Each player of the team at bat shall become the batter and shall take his position within a batter’s box, on either side of home plate, in the order in which his name appears on the lineup card as delivered to the umpire prior to the game (4-1-3)." |
If you are looking for the "both feet within the batter's box" part, see 7.3.2 Sit. A of the case book.
"The batter is considered to be in the batter's box when no part of either foot is touching the ground outside the boundary lines forming the batter's box." I guess you could argue that the rules are different in that OBR requires the batter to have both feet on the ground in order to assume a legal batting position whereas FED permits the "Flamingo" stance (one foot in the air), but I don't think you'll find that in the BRD manual. |
Also, in OBR a batter can hit (or bunt) the ball with a foot touching home plate (as long as part of that foot is in the batter's box), though he must have both feet within the confines of the batter's box when the pitch is delivered.
In FED, if the batter touches the plate and hits (or bunts) the ball (fair or foul), he is out. JJ |
Thx boys.......... does it mention anywhere that an umpire can tell a batter to "scoot" his foot back to get completely in the box?
|
Chris,
10-1-1 works for me. Case play 7.3.2B is a bit more specific: Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19pm. |