The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 03, 2002, 01:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 40
Send a message via AIM to Gold_Spark Send a message via Yahoo to Gold_Spark
Actually . . . just a confirmation from you guys.

This ruling concerns a runner running 3 feet off the baseline to avoid the tag.

The situation is so. The catcher is RECEIVING (ball is in flight) the ball several feet up the third base line and the runner moves more then 3 foot in distance off the baseline.

From there, the runner continues directly to home where the catcher is unable to make the tag.

My understanding is as follows. The baserunner may not run 3 foot away from a direct line between himself and the base he is proceeding to in order to avoid a tag. However, considering the catcher did NOT have the ball at the time the runner moved out . . . the runner merely re-established his baseline.

Could I get some response to this?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1