The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Runner Interference - Phils - Rockies ? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/55011-runner-interference-phils-rockies.html)

JPaco54 Wed Oct 14, 2009 09:37am

Runner Interference - Phils - Rockies ?
 
Been travelling so late on this post but I need some clarification...if anyone saw this play please help me understand why the runner was not called for interference...from what I saw the runner (Rockies) going to 2B jumped behind/over F4 as he was fielding a ground ball, R1 did not touch F4 but as F4 tossed the ball to F6 for the force the ball sailed wide and R1 safe at second. It seemed to me F4 flinched in handling the ball as the runner jumped over him causing F4 to error. Phillies manager discussed the call with Ump and then went back to dugout, I was sure it would have been interference due to the definition of impeding or confusing the fielder...F4 fielded the ball cleanly but then flinched due to the runner's presense jumping over him, in my opion causing interference. The only thing I could think of is that the Ump figured that the jumping act did not impede or confuse F4...I had a call this summer very similar, no jumping but the runner by stopping and shuttling around the fielder, caused the fielder to flinch in confusion, not knowing if the runner was going to run into him, and interference was called due to impeding and or confusing the fielder. Any insight would be helpful. Thanks in advance.

"Offensive interference is an act by the team at bat which interferes
with, obstructs, impedes, hinders or confuses any fielder
attempting to make a play. If the umpire declares the batter, batter-
runner, or a runner out for interference, all other runners
shall return to the last base that was in the judgment of the
umpire, legally touched at the time of the interference, unless
otherwise provided by these rules."

Umpmazza Wed Oct 14, 2009 09:42am

the key word you said in your paragraph was he did not touch F4. This was a good no call...

SanDiegoSteve Wed Oct 14, 2009 09:49am

He jumped over the runner and didn't touch him. I'm sure that's close to what the umpire told Charlie Manuel. Excellent no-call.

Plus, the throw was not caught by F6, who was apparently mesmerized by the hurdle and was not focused on receiving the throw. Again, not the runner's fault.

UmpTTS43 Wed Oct 14, 2009 09:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Umpmazza (Post 630836)
the key word you said in your paragraph was he did not touch F4. This was a good no call...

Contact is not necessary for interference.

MLB is a horse of a different color when it comes to calls such as this. I did not see the play.

mbyron Wed Oct 14, 2009 09:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Umpmazza (Post 630836)
the key word you said in your paragraph was he did not touch F4. This was a good no call...

Your post suggests that you think contact is required for interference. That's incorrect: it's possible to hinder a player without touching him.

I thought that the umpire judged that the fielder was not hindered, despite the crappy throw to F6 covering.

If this happened on my field, I'm pretty sure it would be INT, especially given the crappy throw.

SanDiegoSteve Wed Oct 14, 2009 09:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpTTS43 (Post 630839)
Contact is not necessary for interference.

MLB is a horse of a different color when it comes to calls such as this. I did not see the play.

Those of us who did say it was not interference. The ball was dropped by F6 covering the base. The throw was not affected by the runner.

Rich Ives Wed Oct 14, 2009 09:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Umpmazza (Post 630836)
the key word you said in your paragraph was he did not touch F4. This was a good no call...

Contact isn't necessary.

OTOH, I didn't see where it impacted the ability to field the ball or make the throw so no interference. U2 signaled "safe" , meaning "that's nothing", immediately.

Umpmazza Wed Oct 14, 2009 10:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 630840)
Your post suggests that you think contact is required for interference. That's incorrect: it's possible to hinder a player without touching him.

I thought that the umpire judged that the fielder was not hindered, despite the crappy throw to F6 covering.

If this happened on my field, I'm pretty sure it would be INT, especially given the crappy throw.

I know you can have interference without touching him...

mbyron Wed Oct 14, 2009 10:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Umpmazza (Post 630846)
I know you can have interference without touching him...But the runner didnt touch "this time" so no interference.

That doesn't make sense. Lack of contact is not a reason to rule no INT.

kylejt Wed Oct 14, 2009 10:18am

I've only seen the replay once, at real speed. I had INT right away, with no doubt in my mind.

The throw is of no consequence, since INT kills that play. I wouldn't take that into account.

What I had to think about was if I was going to call the BR out too. Two seconds latter I decided that I wouldn't, because of lack of intent.

Again, I've only see it once, so that's my perspective.

Kevin Finnerty Wed Oct 14, 2009 10:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 630840)
I thought that the umpire judged that the fielder was not hindered, despite the crappy throw to F6 covering.

It was a pretty straight throw that cleared the runner and was flat-out missed by Rollins. It was a crappy catch, if anything.

And it was one of the best no-calls I think I have ever seen. What a play!

Umpmazza Wed Oct 14, 2009 10:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 630847)
That doesn't make sense. Lack of contact is not a reason to rule no INT.

"Offensive interference is an act by the team at bat which interferes
with, obstructs, impedes, hinders or confuses any fielder
attempting to make a play. If the umpire declares the batter, batter-
runner, or a runner out for interference, all other runners
shall return to the last base that was in the judgment of the
umpire, legally touched at the time of the interference, unless
otherwise provided by these rules."


I know the ways we can have interference, but the only reason people are talking about INT is because the runner came very, very close to touching and impeding the fielder. that is way and the only reason why i said no INT...

Rich Wed Oct 14, 2009 10:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kevin Finnerty (Post 630850)
It was a pretty straight throw that cleared the runner and was flat-out missed by Rollins. It was a crappy catch, if anything.

And it was one of the best no-calls I think I have ever seen. What a play!

Lifelong Phillies fan, and I agree. Utley could've drawn interference by standing up, but didn't.

My phrase is this: "To have interference, the runner had to have interfered." How did R1 actually interfere with the play?

In a FED football game, that would be a 15 yard personal foul for hurdling. :)

SanDiegoSteve Wed Oct 14, 2009 11:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 630856)
Lifelong Phillies fan, and I agree. Utley could've drawn interference by standing up, but didn't.

My phrase is this: "To have interference, the runner had to have interfered." How did R1 actually interfere with the play?

In a FED football game, that would be a 15 yard personal foul for hurdling. :)

He is also out for hurdling a fielder not lying on the ground in FED baseball as well.

Rich Wed Oct 14, 2009 11:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve (Post 630859)
He is also out for hurdling a fielder not lying on the ground in FED baseball as well.

Yes, but I was shooting for something a bit more obscure.

nopachunts Wed Oct 14, 2009 12:16pm

Runner Interference - Phils/Rockies
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by kylejt (Post 630849)
I've only seen the replay once, at real speed. I had INT right away, with no doubt in my mind.

The throw is of no consequence, since INT kills that play. I wouldn't take that into account.

What I had to think about was if I was going to call the BR out too. Two seconds latter I decided that I wouldn't, because of lack of intent.

Again, I've only see it once, so that's my perspective.

Do you have the link to the replay? I have not seen the play in question.

mbyron Wed Oct 14, 2009 12:31pm

Try this link.

JPaco54 Wed Oct 14, 2009 01:05pm

thanks for the link

bob jenkins Wed Oct 14, 2009 01:11pm

Now that I've seen it, I've got nothing.

He didn't hinder F4 from fielding the ball (7.08(b)) and didn't fail to avoid F4 (7.90(j)).

He might have interfered with the throw, but it wasn't intentional.

justanotherblue Wed Oct 14, 2009 02:03pm

My first thought during the game was wow, that was close to interference. I think the call was correct. If you watch the play, Fowler goes behind, and yes, somewhat over Utley. He never touches him at any time, nor does he hinder him from fielding the ball. Utley seems to flinch in anticipation of impact that never happens. Fowler gave way for Utley to field the ball. It's just a lousy throw in the end. In Fedlandia, yeah, you have interference for hurdling.

MrUmpire Wed Oct 14, 2009 02:21pm

F4 shows no sign of reacting to the runner. U2 does a great job of signaling "That's nothing" and then making the safe call at second. Good umpiring on the bases throughout the game.

buckyswider Wed Oct 14, 2009 02:34pm

would you IF???......
 
So how about this....

If R1 had mad any kind of contact with F4, even something every so slightly such as brushing a bloused uniform, would you have rung up INT then?

SanDiegoSteve Wed Oct 14, 2009 02:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by buckyswider (Post 630935)
So how about this....

If R1 had mad any kind of contact with F4, even something every so slightly such as brushing a bloused uniform, would you have rung up INT then?

Only if it had hindered F4's fielding of the batted ball.

MrUmpire Wed Oct 14, 2009 02:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by buckyswider (Post 630935)
So how about this....

If R1 had mad any kind of contact with F4, even something every so slightly such as brushing a bloused uniform, would you have rung up INT then?

I follow a strange philosophy...I only rule interference when there is interference.

bob jenkins Wed Oct 14, 2009 03:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by justanotherblue (Post 630924)
In Fedlandia, yeah, you have interference for hurdling.

Hurdling (in and of itself) is not interference in FED.

DG Wed Oct 14, 2009 07:09pm

When I saw it live I thought good no call, and still do. I did think it unfair to give Rollins an error on the play.

SanDiegoSteve Wed Oct 14, 2009 07:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 630951)
Hurdling (in and of itself) is not interference in FED.

It is illegal to hurdle, jump or leap over a fielder unless the fielder is lying on the ground. Rule 8-4-2 and Casebook 8.4.2 T and U. The runner is declared out and the "dangerous" and "illegal" acts supersede obstruction. The ball remains live unless the runner alters the fielder's play or makes contact with the fielder, in which case the ball is dead immediately for interference.

Ump153 Wed Oct 14, 2009 08:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve (Post 630976)
It is illegal to hurdle, jump or leap over a fielder unless the fielder is lying on the ground. Rule 8-4-2 and Casebook 8.4.2 T and U. The runner is declared out and the "dangerous" and "illegal" acts supersede obstruction. The ball remains live unless the runner alters the fielder's play or makes contact with the fielder, in which case the ball is dead immediately for interference.

So, then, as Bob wrote, hurdling, in and of itself, is not interference.

SanDiegoSteve Wed Oct 14, 2009 08:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ump153 (Post 630980)
So, then, as Bob wrote, hurdling, in and of itelf, is not interference.

I didn't disagree, did I? I merely clarified his statement. Your post was in and of "itelf" unnecessary.

UmpJM Wed Oct 14, 2009 08:30pm

Steve,

As a point of discussion, I don't believe I would judge the runner's action in the clip "hurdling" were the game being played under FED rules.

Why would you?

JM

Ump153 Wed Oct 14, 2009 08:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve (Post 630982)
I didn't disagree, did I? I merely clarified his statement. Your post was in and of "itelf" unnecessary.

Thanks for spotting the typo. I'll fix it.

DG Wed Oct 14, 2009 08:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) (Post 630983)
Steve,

As a point of discussion, I don't believe I would judge the runner's action in the clip "hurdling" were the game being played under FED rules.

I would. Fielder was not prone. FED does not want runners jumping over fielders who are not prone. It's a safety issue to FED. It was definitely a hurdle per the FED book, can't see it as otherwise.

Ump153 Wed Oct 14, 2009 08:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) (Post 630983)
Steve,

As a point of discussion, I don't believe I would judge the runner's action in the clip "hurdling" were the game being played under FED rules.

Why would you?

JM

In the second clip, the "stills" appear to indicate that the runner didn't actually "hurdle" the fielder in that the fielder moved slightly toward the infield and was to the infield side of the runner's leap.

RPatrino Wed Oct 14, 2009 09:59pm

Oh please, let's split a few more minute hairs!! Without the benefit of replay and slow motion, I would have had hurdling and the runner out in FED on this play.

SanDiegoSteve Wed Oct 14, 2009 10:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) (Post 630983)
Steve,

As a point of discussion, I don't believe I would judge the runner's action in the clip "hurdling" were the game being played under FED rules.

Why would you?

JM

Because the FED frowns upon leaping over infielders who are not lying on the ground.:confused:

SethPDX Wed Oct 14, 2009 10:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DG (Post 630972)
When I saw it live I thought good no call, and still do. I did think it unfair to give Rollins an error on the play.

Sometimes Rule 10 isn't fair. The scorer must have judged there would have been an out if the throw was better.

I got nothing on the play. Good no-call.

UmpJM Wed Oct 14, 2009 10:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve (Post 630994)
Because the FED frowns upon leaping over infielders who are not lying on the ground.:confused:

Steve,

I saw it more as UMP153 did, that the runner jumped "behind" the fielder.

I don't think it meets the letter or intent of the rule.

But, the FED never really defines what they mean by "hurdling", so who knows?

I wouldn't call an out for hurdling on this in a FED game I was calling.

JM

SanDiegoSteve Wed Oct 14, 2009 10:54pm

The rule says jumping, leaping or hurdling a player, and it's a safety rule. And from the replays I saw of the play, the runner's spikes were directly above the fielder's back as he bent down for the ball.

Rich Wed Oct 14, 2009 11:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) (Post 631000)
Steve,

I saw it more as UMP153 did, that the runner jumped "behind" the fielder.

I don't think it meets the letter or intent of the rule.

But, the FED never really defines what they mean by "hurdling", so who knows?

I wouldn't call an out for hurdling on this in a FED game I was calling.

JM

I would, without hesitation.

mbyron Thu Oct 15, 2009 06:30am

If a runner leaves the ground on one side of a fielder and comes down on another side of the fielder, and he does so in order to avoid contact, I'm ruling that an illegal hurdle for FED. Passing directly over the fielder is not required. I think this ruling embodies the spirit of the FED rule.

I'd never thought about what constitutes a hurdle before, so thanks, forum!

PeteBooth Thu Oct 15, 2009 08:20am

Quote:

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 630951)
Hurdling (in and of itself) is not interference in FED.


Bob agreed but on the play in question Utley was not prone, the runner hurdled over him so in FED, on this play R1 would be declared out.

Pete Booth

PeteBooth Thu Oct 15, 2009 08:24am

Quote:

Quote:

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) (Post 631000)
Steve,

But, the FED never really defines what they mean by "hurdling", so who knows?

I wouldn't call an out for hurdling on this in a FED game I was calling.

JM



JM FED DOES define what they mean by hurdling.

A runner in FED can hurdle a fielder IF the fielder is prone.

On the play in question Utley was NOT prone so IMO in FED this would be a "no brainer" call. R1 would be declared out.

Pete Booth

PeteBooth Thu Oct 15, 2009 08:31am

Quote:

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpTTS43 (Post 630839)
Contact is not necessary for interference.

MLB is a horse of a different color when it comes to calls such as this. I did not see the play.


You are correct in that contact is not necessary to rule interference but on CERTAIN type plays like the one we are discussing CONTACT would be necessary to rule interference.

Even in REAL time I had no interference. The runner did not interfere will Utley's ability to field a batted ball which at THAT moment is what we are looking for.

The next part as Bob J eluded to is: Did the runner intefere with the throw? On a thrown ball we need intent and I did not see any intent on the part of said runner to interfere. These are major league ball-players and the play should have been made.

A good no call. Even Charly Manual didn't go ballistic on the NO call.

Pete Booth

bob jenkins Thu Oct 15, 2009 09:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PeteBooth (Post 631031)
Bob agreed but on the play in question Utley was not prone, the runner hurdled over him so in FED, on this play R1 would be declared out.

Pete Booth

1) Even in FED, the fielder need not be prone. (I don't understand why people think "prone" and "lying on the ground" mean the same thing.)

2) I made no comment on whether the runner would be out for hurdling. Only that it wasn't interference in FED -- and that has implications for other runners and the continuing play.

3) As I viewed the video, it was close to whether R1 hurdled F4. I'd support either call on the field (in FED). I hope we can all agree that this is NOT an example of "the easiest call in baseball" (that's a joke).

Kevin Finnerty Thu Oct 15, 2009 10:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SethPDX (Post 630995)
Sometimes Rule 10 isn't fair. The scorer must have judged there would have been an out if the throw was better.

I got nothing on the play. Good no-call.

There must be an error on someone to explain why Fowler's on second after a common fielder's choice. Rollins just whiffed on it with only a slight reach. That's an error.

Kevin Finnerty Thu Oct 15, 2009 10:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 631040)
... As I viewed the video, it was close to whether R1 hurdled F4. I'd support either call on the field (in FED). I hope we can all agree that this is NOT an example of "the easiest call in baseball" (that's a joke).

In my opinion, it's the best no-call I can remember seeing in a high-profile game. And it was an exceedingly difficult call, if I may say so.

SethPDX Thu Oct 15, 2009 03:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kevin Finnerty (Post 631061)
There must be an error on someone to explain why Fowler's on second after a common fielder's choice. Rollins just whiffed on it with only a slight reach. That's an error.

I forgot Rollins was F6, not F4. Looking back, the throw was not that bad, so E6 makes sense.

Kevin Finnerty Thu Oct 15, 2009 04:23pm

When it was happening, I was also interested in seeing that Fowler didn't mess up the throw and he didn't. Two outstanding no-calls (with great mechanics!!). What a play!

With all of the glaring blown calls in these four series (Kulpa's astounding out call at third in Game 1 Rockies/Phils; Bucknor's two glaring blown calls at first in Anaheim; the absurd Cuzzi blowing of the easiest call in umpiring), the superb handling of that play was a refreshing sight.

Oh, and I am not saying that I am better than any of the extremely highly paid and vastly more experienced umpires I just criticized, I am simply illustrating the cold, hard reality that they were blown calls---glaringly so.

And again, that's simply my opinion.

jdmara Thu Oct 15, 2009 04:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 630856)
...Utley could've drawn interference by standing up, but didn't...

Sorry that I'm late to the game but Rich it looks to me like Utley was trying to drawl contact. He almost looks as though he attempts to move up and back after fielding the ball to draw contact. He didn't draw the contact and decided to flip the ball to get the out.

Can't believe it took me this long to get on the baseball side of the forum to see the play. I'm losing it.

-Josh

SanDiegoSteve Thu Oct 15, 2009 06:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 631121)
...it looks to me like Utley was trying to drawl contact.

I didn't even know he spoke with a southern accent!:p

briancurtin Thu Oct 15, 2009 07:16pm

Sorry to get off topic, but I could go for one of those jackets they have in the video clip - a Majestic full zip ThermaBase jacket, the umpire version of the jackets you see the coaches wearing. I have a Cubs jacket just like it and it's very nice, and pretty warm.

johnnyg08 Thu Oct 15, 2009 09:37pm

Yeah, those Thermabase jackets are nice. Nice and expensive.

SanDiegoSteve Thu Oct 15, 2009 10:17pm

Brian, thanks for hijacking the thread. It is now infinitely more interesting.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1