The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   protest ruling (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/5478-protest-ruling.html)

Wallyjay Thu Jul 25, 2002 12:05am

One out, runners at 2nd and 3rd. Batter flies out to center for 2nd out. R3 tags and scores after the catch, R2 is called out for leaving early after the ball is put back in play prior to the next pitch. Does R3's run count? this happened in a Babe Ruth tournament game, and the head umpire disallowed the run. Can't find it in the rule book. I said the run was good. Help? Where is the rule in the book?
Thanks

Whowefoolin Thu Jul 25, 2002 12:23am

Run counts. Not a force. An appeal is not a force, therefore, run cooooouuuuuuunnnnnntttts!

Boone Thu Jul 25, 2002 02:36am

to be more specific, appeals are time plays. My question, why did you call time out?

Rita C Thu Jul 25, 2002 02:57am

Rule 7.10.

Some appeals are time plays. Some are forces. This one was not a force play.

Rita

Boone Thu Jul 25, 2002 03:03am

Rita, which appeal plays are force plays? I believe they are all time plays.

Even when a runner is trying to get back to a bag on a caught ball and the fielder throws behind him trying for the double play...this is not a force. It is still an appeal play and time play. Its just happening really fast. Hence my question on why time was called.

I've actually had players try to call time, just so they could toe the rubber, have me put the ball in play, step off and make an appeal. FOR THE LOVE OF GOD just throw the ball over to the bag!

Rita C Thu Jul 25, 2002 03:13am

An appeal of a missed base can be a force play if the runner was forced to the base. For example, R1 misses second on his way to third. Appealing that can cancel a run if it is the third out.

Rita

Boone Thu Jul 25, 2002 03:17am

Niiiiiice!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1