The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Runner tagging up? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/54707-runner-tagging-up.html)

Sideline Ump Mon Sep 21, 2009 01:25am

Runner tagging up?
 
Situation is runner on 3rd, and fly ball hit to deep center field in which fielder may or may not have caught the ball over his shoulder. Fielder falls down, ball not in sight (unknown if it was caught or not) so runner retouches, tags up and scores. Defense appeals play, runner is called out because 'the home plate umpire had not made a call on the batter'. Umpire waited to see if the fielder came up with the ball in his glove. My contention is it did not matter if the ball was caught or not, the runner may tag up as soon as the ball is touched. Am I correct?

Matt Mon Sep 21, 2009 01:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sideline Ump (Post 626386)
Situation is runner on 3rd, and fly ball hit to deep center field in which fielder may or may not have caught the ball over his shoulder. Fielder falls down, ball not in sight (unknown if it was caught or not) so runner retouches, tags up and scores. Defense appeals play, runner is called out because 'the home plate umpire had not made a call on the batter'. Umpire waited to see if the fielder came up with the ball in his glove. My contention is it did not matter if the ball was caught or not, the runner may tag up as soon as the ball is touched. Am I correct?

Yes.

ozzy6900 Mon Sep 21, 2009 07:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sideline Ump (Post 626386)
Situation is runner on 3rd, and fly ball hit to deep center field in which fielder may or may not have caught the ball over his shoulder. Fielder falls down, ball not in sight (unknown if it was caught or not) so runner retouches, tags up and scores. Defense appeals play, runner is called out because 'the home plate umpire had not made a call on the batter'. Umpire waited to see if the fielder came up with the ball in his glove. My contention is it did not matter if the ball was caught or not, the runner may tag up as soon as the ball is touched. Am I correct?

The umpire that made that call needs to go back to school and learn when a runner may tag up. Your assumption is correct.

JR12 Mon Sep 21, 2009 08:25am

Otherwise a outfielder could juggle the ball as he runs toward the infield.

SanDiegoSteve Mon Sep 21, 2009 09:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JR12 (Post 626403)
Otherwise a outfielder could juggle the ball as he runs toward the infield.

Which is what they used to do, hence the rule was changed to allow runners to leave the base as soon as the ball is first touched.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1