The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Who is out? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/54462-who-out.html)

harmbu Fri Aug 28, 2009 09:41am

Who is out?
 
FED. R1 and R3 two outs. R1 attempts to steal second. F2 throws and the ball is cut off by F6. On the return throw B1 interferes. The interference is called. Who is out? R3 or B1?

mbyron Fri Aug 28, 2009 09:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by harmbu (Post 622700)
FED. R1 and R3 two outs. R1 attempts to steal second. F2 throws and the ball is cut off by F6. On the return throw B1 interferes. The interference is called. Who is out? R3 or B1?

With 2 outs, the batter is out. 8-4-2l.1

Quote:

Originally Posted by 2009 Rule Book
8-4-2: Any runner is out when he:
l. attempts to advance to home base when the batter interferes with a play at
home base, with less than two outs; or
1. If there are two outs, the batter is out because of his interference and
since he is the third out, the runner cannot score
. But if there are not
two outs, the runner is out and the batter is not penalized.

OBR reference: 7.08g.

Ump153 Fri Aug 28, 2009 06:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 622702)
OBR reference: 7.08g.

So, you have R1 stealing home? Wouldn't he be out for passing R3?:D

SanDiegoSteve Fri Aug 28, 2009 06:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ump153 (Post 622780)
So, you have R1 stealing home? Wouldn't he be out for passing R3?:D

7.08 Any runner is out when (g) He attempts to score on a play in which the batter interferes with the play at home base before two are out. With two out, the interference puts the batter out and no score counts.

Perhaps you are thinking of 7.08 (h)?

Ump153 Fri Aug 28, 2009 07:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve (Post 622788)
7.08 Any runner is out when (g) He attempts to score on a play in which the batter interferes with the play at home base before two are out. With two out, the interference puts the batter out and no score counts.

Perhaps you are thinking of 7.08 (h)?

R1 was not attempting to score.

I have had a long and stressful day and may not be thinking things through, but the OP reads:

FED. R1 and R3 two outs. R1 attempts to steal second.

SanDiegoSteve Fri Aug 28, 2009 08:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ump153 (Post 622791)
R1 was not attempting to score.

I have had a long and stressful day and may not be thinking things through, but the OP reads:

FED. R1 and R3 two outs. R1 attempts to steal second.

Yeah, go have a beer and relax a bit....R1 was stealing 2nd. While he was busy doing that, R3 took off for home and the batter interfered with the play at the plate. Who is out, R3 or batter? That was the situation, and the corresponding rules were posted.

DG Fri Aug 28, 2009 08:52pm

Send R1 back to 1b too, after calling R3 out for B1 int (with less than 2 outs).

Ump153 Fri Aug 28, 2009 09:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve (Post 622792)
Yeah, go have a beer and relax a bit....R1 was stealing 2nd. While he was busy doing that, R3 took off for home and the batter interfered with the play at the plate. Who is out, R3 or batter? That was the situation, and the corresponding rules were posted.

I'm sorry but after rereading the initial post, I see no reference to R3 attempting to score. I can see how one might assume that, but I don't assume.

DG Fri Aug 28, 2009 10:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ump153 (Post 622804)
I'm sorry but after rereading the initial post, I see no reference to R3 attempting to score. I can see how one might assume that, but I don't assume.

So you want to believe that F6 cut off F2's throw to 2b and on the return throw (meaning return to F2) B1 interferes, but because it was not said, R3 is not advancing to home. So B1 interferes with F2 receiving the return throw from F6 then with no advancing R3 in this scenario. So what's your ruling on that?

BigUmp56 Fri Aug 28, 2009 10:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DG (Post 622811)
So you want to believe that F6 cut off F2's throw to 2b and on the return throw (meaning return to F2) B1 interferes, but because it was not said, R3 is not advancing to home. So B1 interferes with F2 receiving the return throw from F6 then with no advancing R3 in this scenario. So what's your ruling on that?

I'd be asking how B1 could interfere with a return throw from F6 and the INT not be near the plate with an advancing R3. Unless, of course B1 ran out past the mound to do so...............


Tim.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1