The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Rule 6.05 (k) (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/54344-rule-6-05-k.html)

rbmartin Sun Aug 16, 2009 04:37pm

Rule 6.05 (k)
 
Having trouble finding this in rulebook:
When calling out a batter/runner via rule 6.05(k), what do you do with runners on other bases?

SanDiegoSteve Sun Aug 16, 2009 05:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbmartin (Post 620749)
Having trouble finding this in rulebook:
When calling out a batter/runner via rule 6.05(k), what do you do with runners on other bases?

6.05(k) is not listed in the index of OBR as an example of interference per se. 6.05 (h), (j), (m) and (n) are the only official offensive interference references given for 6.05.

I believe that the play has no effect on the other runners, and only the batter is called out.

In the MLBUM, it says the following concerning interference, but doesn't address this situation specifically, so I don't believe it applies:

If the umpire declares the batter, batter-runner, or a runner out for interference, all other runners shall return to the last base that was, in the judgment of the umpire, legally touched at the time of the interference unless otherwise provided by the Official Baseball Rules.

Somebody correct me if I'm wrong.

johnnyg08 Sun Aug 16, 2009 06:00pm

I think you're right Steve. I was reading about an intervening play not straight up runner's lane INT. Runners return to TOP base if B/R does not reach 1B

UmpJM Sun Aug 16, 2009 07:01pm

rbmartin,

On a running lane interference call, the BR is out, and any other runners return to their TOP base - UNLESS, there was an "interving play" prior to the runnig lane interference, in which case other runners are returned to their TOI base.

JM

TussAgee11 Sun Aug 16, 2009 07:09pm

Obviously, as JM pointed out, a safe play at the plate followed by runners lane INT, run scores because of intervening play.

But would a play at another base qualify as intervening?

1) Intervening play on a R1 or R2
2) R3 touches home
3) Runner's lane interference

...or...

1) R3 touches home
2) Intervening play on another runner
3) Runner's lane interference

Run is good on situation 2 for sure, but situation 1? The wording JM provided would say yes, all runners get TOI once any intervening play takes place (otherwise we'd have to start forcing runners along in certain situations). I'm inclined to agree, but can't find a rule citation.

rbmartin Sun Aug 16, 2009 07:15pm

Rule 6.05(k) listed on MLB.com contains the phrase "in which case the ball is dead" while the rule listed at baseball-almanac.com does not.

This came up in a game I was a substitute umpire for this weekend but luckily no runners on. I just want to be prepared for next time just in case.

SanDiegoSteve Sun Aug 16, 2009 10:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) (Post 620767)
rbmartin,

On a running lane interference call, the BR is out, and any other runners return to their TOP base - UNLESS, there was an "interving play" prior to the runnig lane interference, in which case other runners are returned to their TOI base.

JM

Could you give me the rule reference for this interp please?

johnnyg08 Sun Aug 16, 2009 10:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve (Post 620820)
Could you give me the rule reference for this interp please?

mlbum p 52 Titled Interference w/ Intervening Play.

Rule: 6.05k and probably somewhere in Rule 7 would be my guess.

Matt Sun Aug 16, 2009 10:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TussAgee11 (Post 620772)
Obviously, as JM pointed out, a safe play at the plate followed by runners lane INT, run scores because of intervening play.

But would a play at another base qualify as intervening?

1) Intervening play on a R1 or R2
2) R3 touches home
3) Runner's lane interference

...or...

1) R3 touches home
2) Intervening play on another runner
3) Runner's lane interference

Run is good on situation 2 for sure, but situation 1? The wording JM provided would say yes, all runners get TOI once any intervening play takes place (otherwise we'd have to start forcing runners along in certain situations). I'm inclined to agree, but can't find a rule citation.

How could you have an intervening play at any base but home? If the throw to 1B comes from anywhere but the vicinity of home, you cannot have runner's lane interference.

johnnyg08 Sun Aug 16, 2009 10:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) (Post 620767)
rbmartin,

On a running lane interference call, the BR is out, and any other runners return to their TOP base - UNLESS, there was an "interving play" prior to the runnig lane interference, in which case other runners are returned to their TOI base.

JM

w/ less than 2 outs, the run could possibly score though on an intervening play

SanDiegoSteve Mon Aug 17, 2009 03:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 620823)
mlbum p 52 Titled Interference w/ Intervening Play.

Rule: 6.05k and probably somewhere in Rule 7 would be my guess.

MLBUM 6.2 yes, rule book...not in there. I wanted the rule from the book that said all this. This shows that it's another omission in the OBR book.

mbyron Mon Aug 17, 2009 06:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve (Post 620858)
MLBUM 6.2 yes, rule book...not in there. I wanted the rule from the book that said all this. This shows that it's another omission in the OBR book.

That's correct. It's an interp, not a rule.

SanDiegoSteve Mon Aug 17, 2009 12:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 620867)
That's correct. It's an interp, not a rule.

That is what I was driving at. I'm a big proponent of a total rewrite of OBR for this very reason. I need to build a room addition to house the volumes of interpretation manuals needed to umpire a friggin baseball game nowadays.

And I'm sure there are many umpires who have no access to these extra books, due to financial restraints. Or the 99% of managers and coaches who have never even heard of Jim Evans or MLBUM or PBUC or NAPBL or J/R or any other alphabet soup manuals where interps come from. Just once, can't the powers that be come together and fix the 235+ errors in OBR once and for all?

I know I'm dreaming, but that's what I would love to see--a completely new rule book. Many coaches don't like to hear "Coach, it's an official interpretation." If it's not in the book specifically addressed, then they don't want to hear about it.

Paul L Mon Aug 17, 2009 01:16pm

Although rare, it is possible to have runners-lane interference on a throw other than from the home plate area. Nothing in the rule limits it to throws from home plate.

E.g.: bases loaded, no outs. BR bunts a sharp one-hopper to pitcher, who gloves it and fires to third for the force out. F5 then fires the ball across to first. The path of the throw will intercept the first base line about four feet down the line towards home. F3 leans toward home, sticks his glove out in fair territory, just inside the line, and would have been able to catch the ball with ordinary effort (IOW, a quality throw) in time to put out BR, except that BR is also running inside the line (his left foot entirely to the left of the line). BR runs into F3's glove, the ball hits BR in the back and falls to the ground. At some point before the interference, either before the force at third (a la suicide squeeze) or afterwards, R3 touches home.

Taking JM's reported interpretation as gospel, I have R2 out on the force, BR out on a running-lane interference, R3 scoring a run, and R1 wherever he was when the ball hit BR (I hope some ump was watching).

On the other hand, if there was no play at third and F1's initial play was the same throw to F3, then BR is out and runners all return to TOP base. Are we sure that MLBUM or some other authority says this would be a TOP, not a TOI?

johnnyg08 Mon Aug 17, 2009 01:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Paul L (Post 620920)
Are we sure that MLBUM or some other authority says this would be a TOP, not a TOI?


Here is the citation from From MLBUM:

Play: Play at the plate on runner attempting to score; runner is called safe. A following play is made on the batter-runner, who is called out for interference outside the three-foot lane.

Ruling: With less than two out, the run scores and the batter-runner is out. With two out, the run does not count. The reasoning is that an intervening play occurred before the interference. Runners would return to the base last legally touched at the time of interference. However, w/ two out, the runner reached home on a play in which the batter-runner was out before reaching first base. (Note this clarification to the Casebook Comment of Official Baseball Rule 2.00 (Interference) (a).)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1