The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Appeal situation (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/54259-appeal-situation.html)

zm1283 Sat Aug 08, 2009 05:13pm

Appeal situation
 
FED rules.

Bases loaded, 1 out.

Ball is hit to deep center. F8 makes the catch and R3 and R2 advance. R1 returns to first, so we are going to have R1 and R3 with 2 out.

Everyone in the park knows F3 left early before he scored. The defensive coach obviously doesn't know FED appeal rules (dead ball appeal) because he instructs F1 to engage the pitcher's plate so they can make the ball live. As he does, R1 sprints off and gets into a rundown between first and second. He is tagged out and the "new" R3 doesn't score.

At this point, since the defense doesn't lose the right to appeal from the offense initiating a play, can't the defense still appeal the runner leaving early from the sacrifice fly to F8? Would this be a fourth out appeal? This didn't happen in any of my games, but it was brought up to me by someone.

Steven Tyler Sat Aug 08, 2009 05:16pm

Yes, they can appeal as the offense instigated the action.

GA Umpire Sat Aug 08, 2009 05:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steven Tyler (Post 619537)
Yes, they can appeal as the offense instigated the action.

Is this a Calvinball [Fed] thing?

B/c in all other codes, this is a play on a runner. Since it is not continuous action, the defense would lose the right to appeal R3 leaving early. And, it would not matter who instigated the play.

Another reason to not like Fed rules.

zm1283 Sat Aug 08, 2009 05:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by GA Umpire (Post 619539)
Is this a Calvinball [Fed] thing?

B/c in all other codes, this is a play on a runner. Since it is not continuous action, the defense would lose the right to appeal R3 leaving early. And, it would not matter who instigated the play.

Another reason to not like Fed rules.

Yes, it's a FED thing.

johnnyg08 Sat Aug 08, 2009 06:07pm

you can live ball appeal in FED

Matt Sat Aug 08, 2009 06:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by GA Umpire (Post 619539)
Is this a Calvinball [Fed] thing?

B/c in all other codes, this is a play on a runner. Since it is not continuous action, the defense would lose the right to appeal R3 leaving early. And, it would not matter who instigated the play.

Another reason to not like Fed rules.

Not all other codes. NCAA has the same ruling as FED.

kylejt Sat Aug 08, 2009 06:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 619536)
... because he instructs F1 to engage the pitcher's plate so they can make the ball live. As he does, R1 sprints off...

So R1 is running on a dead ball?

That's interesting.

p.s. was the ball actually dead?

Matt Sat Aug 08, 2009 06:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by kylejt (Post 619549)
So R1 is running on a dead ball?

That's interesting.

p.s. was the ball actually dead?

Unless something is missing in the OP, it shouldn't have been.

GA Umpire Sat Aug 08, 2009 06:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt (Post 619546)
Not all other codes. NCAA has the same ruling as FED.

I stand corrected. I looked in the NCAA rules and it is there under Rule 8.

zm1283 Sat Aug 08, 2009 08:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 619543)
you can live ball appeal in FED

I know.

Quote:

Originally Posted by kylejt (Post 619549)
So R1 is running on a dead ball?

That's interesting.

p.s. was the ball actually dead?

From the way I was told, yes the ball was dead and had been put back in play when F1 engaged the pitcher's plate and R1 sprinted off to get in the rundown. Either that, or it stayed live and the DC thought that the pitcher had to engage the plate so the PU could put it in play. Regardless, the DC didn't have a clue about what was going on. The person who told me this story was the offensive coach. He got a run from the guy leaving early at 3rd and the DC had no idea he could either A) Appeal during a dead ball, or B) Appeal after the rundown for the fourth out.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt (Post 619550)
Unless something is missing in the OP, it shouldn't have been.

See above.

bob jenkins Sun Aug 09, 2009 07:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by GA Umpire (Post 619551)
I stand corrected. I looked in the NCAA rules and it is there under Rule 8.

IMO, FED and NCAA have this rule "right" for amateur baseball. This prevents the offense from initiating a play to gain an advantege from wahat was a (potential) baserunning error.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1